Staff by Role

Head Of School

Professor Hans-Peter Klenk
Head of School

Academic Staff

Professor Jerry Barnes
Prof of Environ Biology

Dr Gordon Beakes
Reader in Dev. Mycology

Dr Richard Bevan

Professor Anne Borland
Professor of Plant Physiology

Dr Timothy Boswell

Professor John Bythell
Prof of Coral Reef Biology

Dr Martin Edwards
Teaching Fellow: Molecular, Micro & Cell Biology

Dr Heather Finlayson
Senior Lecturer

Professor Angharad MR Gatehouse
Professor of Invertebrate Molecular Biology

Dr Alison Graham
Teaching Fellow

Dr Ethan Hack
Senior Lecturer

Dr Emmi Hall
Teaching Fellow

Dr Philip McGowan
Senior Lecturer in Biodiversity and Conservation

Dr Aileen Mill
Lecturer in Vertebrate Ecology and Biodiversity

Dr Gordon Port
Senior Lecturer

Dr Claire Rind
Reader in Invertebrate Neurobiology

Professor Stephen Rushton
Prof of Biological Modelling

Dr Roy Sanderson

Dr Peter Simmons
Reader in Neurobiology & Behaviour

Dr Ian Singleton
Marie Curie International Outgoing Fellow

Dr James Stach
Senior Lecturer

Professor Mark Whittingham
Professor of Applied Ecology (MCIEEM)

Dr Kirsten Wolff
Reader in Evolutionary Genetics

Administrative Staff

Jill Elliott
Office Manager

Heather Martin
School Manager

David Moir
School Administrator - Research and Outreach

Clerical Staff

Jan Fife
Personal Assistant

Deborah Keen
Finance Secretary

Sarah Thomson
Receptionist & Teaching Office Supp Sec

Susan Winship
Academic Secretary (Undergrad Support)

Visitors And Associates

Professor Andrew Cockburn
Visiting Professor

Emeritus Professor Alasdair Edwards
Professor of Coral Reef Ecology

Arthur Leewis
Guest Member of Staff

Laura Owens
Guest Member of Staff

Professor Francesco Pennacchio
Visiting Professor

Technical Staff

Mark Bendall
Technical Services Manager

Dr Barry Brogan
Entomology Research Technician

Ros Brown
Teaching & Project Laboratory Manager

Gillian Davison
Research Technician

Miriam Earnshaw
Teaching & Project Laboratory Tech

Roger Furness
ICT Officer (SAgE - Biology)

Christopher Keilty
Teaching Laboratory Technician

Donald Keir
Research & Maintenance Technician

Victoria Landless
Teaching Laboratory Technician

Helen Martin
Research Technician

Dr Matthew Peake
Research Technician

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 4832

Dr Kirsten Wyness
Senior Teaching Lab Tech

Research Staff

Dr Alasdair Blain
Research Associate

Dr Andrew Close
Research Associate

Dr Matt Grainger
Research Associate

Dr Nicholas Levsen
Research Associate

Dr Ailsa McKenzie
Research Associate

Dr William Reid
Research Associate (Biological Modeller)

Dr Mark Shirley
Research Associate

Dr Tahar Taybi
Senior Research Scientist

Dr Colin Tosh
NERC Fellow

Dr Zelda Van Der Waal
Research Associate