Biomedical Sciences staff and students

Staff by Role

Head Of School

Dr Christopher Baldwin
Senior Lecturer

Deputy Head Of School

Dr Debra Bevitt
Senior Lecturer

School Academic Staff

Dr Phillip Aldridge
Senior Lecturer

Professor Simi Ali
Professor of Immunobiology

Dr James Allan
Senior Lecturer

Professor Barry Argent

Dr Vanessa Armstrong

Professor Alan Boddy
Professor of Cancer Pharmacology

Dr David Bolam
Senior Lecturer

Dr Geoff Bosson
Senior Lecturer

Professor Philip Bradley
Head of School

Professor Colin Brooks

Dr Colin Brown
Senior Lecturer

Dr Jeremy Brown
Senior Lecturer

Professor Katherine Bushby
Act. Res.Chair of Neuromuscular Genetics

Professor Jane Calvert
Dean of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Timothy Cheek
Reader in Cell Signalling

Professor Steven Clifford
Prof of Molecular Paediatric Oncology

Professor Matthew Collin
Professor of Haematology

Professor Bernard Connolly

Professor Ann Daly
Professor of Pharmacogenetics

Dr Richard Daniel
Senior Lecturer

Professor Christopher Dennison
Professor of Biological Chemistry

Dr Peter Donaldson
Senior Lecturer

Dr Christopher Eggett
Senior Lecturer

Professor David Elliott
Professor of Genetics

Professor T. Martin Embley
Professor of Evolutionary Mol. Biology

Professor Jeff Errington
Director of the Centre for Bacterial Cell Biology (CBCB)

Professor Nick Europe-Finner
Prof of Myometrial Science

Dr Lindsey Ferrie

Dr Susan Firbank

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7369

Professor Paul Flecknell

Professor Dianne Ford
Professor of Molecular Nutrition

Dr Sasha Gartside
Senior Lecturer

Dr Luke Gaughan
Senior Lecturer

Professor Kenn Gerdes
Professor of Bacterial Cell Biology

Professor Judith Goodship
Professor of Medical Genetics

Dr Michael Gray
Reader in Cellular Physiology

Dr Judith Hall
Senior Lecturer

Professor Andy Hall
Associate Dean of Bioresources

Professor Christine Harrison
Prof of Childhood Cancer Cytogenetics

Professor Colin Harwood
Professor of Molecular Microbiology

Professor Alastair Hawkins
Professor of Molecular Genetics

Professor Olaf Heidenreich
Professor of Molecular Haematology

Professor John Edward Hesketh
Professor of Mammalian Molecular Biology

Dr Catharien Hilkens
Reader in Immunotherapy

Professor Barry Hirst
Professor of Cellular Physiology

Professor Robert Hirt
Professor of Evolutionary Parasitology

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine

Dr Jun-yong Huang

Professor Anya Hurlbert
Professor of Visual Neuroscience

Dr Julie Irving
Reader in Experimental Haematology

Dr Michael Jackson
Senior Lecturer

Professor Farhad Kamali

Dr Neil Keegan

Professor Brendan Kenny
Professor of Medical Microbiology

Dr Anjam Khan
Senior Lecturer

Dr Andrew Knight

Professor Jeremy Lakey
Professor of Structural Biochemistry

Dr Fiona LeBeau

Professor Rick Lewis
Prof of Structural Biology

Professor Susan Lindsay
Prof of Human Dev Genetics

Dr Penny Lovat
Senior Lecturer in Cellular Dermatology and Oncology

Professor John Lunec
Gillespie Prof of Molecular Oncology

Professor David Lydall
Professor of Genome Stability

Dr Philip Manning

Professor John Mathers
Professor of Human Nutrition

Dr Ross Maxwell

Dr Felicity May
Senior Lecturer

Professor Calum McNeil

Dr Richard McQuade
Senior Lecturer

Dr Catherine Meplan
Teaching fellow

Dr Peter Middleton

Professor Anthony Moorman
Professor of Genetic Epidemiology

Professor Brian Morgan
Professor of Yeast Molecular Biology

Dr Peter Murphy

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6651

Dr Elaine Mutch

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 4838

Dr Damian Parry

Professor Jeffrey Pearson
Professor of Molecular Physiology

Dr Heiko Peters
Reader in Mammalian Genetics

Professor Janet Quinn
Professor of Eukaryotic Microbiology

Professor Adrian Rees
Professor of Auditory Neuroscience

Professor John Robinson
Strategic Research Advisor

Professor Craig Robson
Professor of Molecular Urology

Professor Drew Rowan
Professor of Molecular Rheumatology

Dr Julian Rutherford

Dr Roger Searle
Head of School & Director of Anatomy and Clinical Skills & Director of Excellence in Learning and Teaching

Dr Mohammed Shoaib
Senior Lecturer

Professor Nicholas Simmons

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6999

Professor Volker Straub
Harold Macmillan Professor of Medicine

Dr Michele Sweeney
Teaching Fellow

Professor Michael Taggart
Chair of Reproductive Sciences

Professor Robert Taylor
Professor of Mitochondrial Pathology

Professor David Thwaites
Professor of Epithelial Physiology

Dr Michael Tilby
Senior Lecturer in Molecular Pharmacology

Dr Alison Tyson-Capper
Faculty PgR Tutor (Associate Dean); Senior Lecturer

Dr Elizabeth Veal
Reader in Molecular Biology

Dr Gareth Veal
Senior Lecturer

Professor Waldemar Vollmer
Prof of Bacterial Biochemistry

Dr Nick Watkins
Senior Lecturer

Dr Carys Watts
Senior Lecturer (Enterprise)

Dr Andreas Werner
Reader in Molecular Biology

Dr Simon Whitehall
Senior Lecturer

Professor Miles Whittington

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5340

Dr Simon Wilkinson
Staff Scientist

Dr Edwin Williams
Senior Lecturer

Professor Matthew Wright
Professor of Toxicology