Biomedical Sciences staff and students


A To Z

Dr Phillip Aldridge
Senior Lecturer

Julie Alexander
PA to Head of School

Professor Simi Ali
Professor of Immunobiology

Dr James Allan
Senior Lecturer

Dr Vanessa Armstrong

Dr Christopher Bacon
Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Haematopathology

Dr Christopher Baldwin
Senior Lecturer

Dr Debra Bevitt
Senior Lecturer

Professor Alan Boddy
Professor of Cancer Pharmacology

Dr David Bolam
Senior Lecturer

Dr Geoff Bosson
Senior Lecturer

Professor Philip Bradley
Head of School

Dr Paul Brennan
Associate Clinical Lecturer

Professor Colin Brooks

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7813

Dr Colin Brown
Senior Lecturer

Dr Jeremy Brown
Senior Lecturer

Professor Sir John Burn
Professor of Clinical Genetics

Professor Jane Calvert
Dean of Undergraduate Studies

Dr Timothy Cheek
Reader in Cell Signalling

Professor Steven Clifford
Prof of Molecular Paediatric Oncology

Professor Matthew Collin
Professor of Haematology

Professor Bernard Connolly

Dr Ian Cowell
Staff Scientist

Professor Nicola Curtin

Professor Ann Daly
Professor of Pharmacogenetics

Dr Richard Daniel
Senior Lecturer

Professor Christopher Dennison
Professor of Biological Chemistry

Dr Peter Donaldson
Senior Lecturer

Dr Christopher Eggett
Senior Lecturer

Professor T. Martin Embley
Professor of Evolutionary Mol. Biology

Professor Jeff Errington
Director of the Centre for Bacterial Cell Biology (CBCB)

Professor Nick Europe-Finner
Prof of Myometrial Science

Fiona Fenwick

Dr Lindsey Ferrie

Professor Paul Flecknell

Professor Dianne Ford
Professor of Molecular Nutrition

Dr Sasha Gartside
Senior Lecturer

Dr Luke Gaughan
Senior Lecturer

Dr Andrew Gennery
Clinical Reader/Consultant

Professor Judith Goodship
Professor of Medical Genetics

Dr Michael Gray
Reader in Cellular Physiology

Kerry Grenfell
Data Input Assistant

Karen Griffiths
Clerical Assistant

Dr Judith Hall
Senior Lecturer

Professor Andy Hall
Associate Dean of Bioresources

Professor Christine Harrison
Prof of Childhood Cancer Cytogenetics

Professor Colin Harwood
Professor of Molecular Microbiology

Professor Alastair Hawkins
Professor of Molecular Genetics

Professor Olaf Heidenreich
Professor of Molecular Haematology

Professor John Edward Hesketh
Professor of Mammalian Molecular Biology

Rachel Hewson
Clerical Assistant

Adele Hick
Assistant Teaching Support Co-ordinator

Dr Catharien Hilkens
Reader in Immunotherapy

Professor Barry Hirst
Professor of Cellular Physiology

Professor Robert Hirt
Professor of Evolutionary Parasitology

Susan Hodgson

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine

Dr Jun-yong Huang

Professor Anya Hurlbert
Professor of Visual Neuroscience

Lesley Innes
Teaching Administrator

Dr Julie Irving
Reader in Experimental Haematology

Professor Farhad Kamali

Dr Neil Keegan

Professor Brendan Kenny
Professor of Medical Microbiology

Dr Anjam Khan
Senior Lecturer

Dr Andrew Knight

Sheila Laird

Professor Jeremy Lakey
Professor of Structural Biochemistry

Dr Fiona LeBeau

Professor Rick Lewis
Prof of Structural Biology

Professor Robert Lightowlers
Director, ICaMB and Professor of Molecular Neuroscience

Professor Susan Lindsay
Prof of Human Dev Genetics

Professor Hanns Lochmuller
Professor of Experimental Myology

Dr Penny Lovat
Senior Lecturer in Cellular Dermatology and Oncology

Professor John Lunec
Gillespie Prof of Molecular Oncology

Professor David Lydall
Professor of Genome Stability

Dr Philip Manning

Rachel Martin
Clerical Assistant

Professor John Mathers
Professor of Human Nutrition

Dr Ross Maxwell

Dr Felicity May
Senior Lecturer

Dr Richard McQuade
Senior Lecturer

Dr Catherine Meplan
Teaching fellow

Professor Anthony Moorman
Professor of Genetic Epidemiology

Professor Brian Morgan
Professor of Yeast Molecular Biology

Dr Peter Murphy

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6651

Dr Damian Parry

Professor Jeffrey Pearson
Professor of Molecular Physiology

Dr Heiko Peters
Reader in Mammalian Genetics

Professor Janet Quinn
Professor of Eukaryotic Microbiology

Professor Adrian Rees
Professor of Auditory Neuroscience

Malcolm Robson
Senior Teaching Technician

Professor Craig Robson
Professor of Molecular Urology

Professor Drew Rowan
Professor of Molecular Rheumatology

Dr Julian Rutherford

Dr Paula Salgado
Lecturer in Macromolecular Crystallography

Dr Evelyne Sernagor
Reader in Developmental Neuroscience

Dr Mohammed Shoaib
Senior Lecturer

Vanessa Simblett
Teaching Support Coordinator

Karen Skelton
Clerical Assistant

Dr Michele Sweeney
Teaching Fellow

Professor Michael Taggart
Chair of Reproductive Sciences

Dr John-Paul Taylor
Clinical Senior Lecturer/Consultant

Professor Robert Taylor
Professor of Mitochondrial Pathology

Professor David Thwaites
Professor of Epithelial Physiology

Dr Alison Tyson-Capper
Faculty Postgraduate Tutor (Associate Dean); Senior Lecturer

Dr Elizabeth Veal
Reader in Molecular Biology

Dr Gareth Veal
Senior Lecturer

Professor Waldemar Vollmer
Prof of Bacterial Biochemistry

Samantha Walker
Phase 2 Biomedical Sciences Secretary

Dr Christopher Ward
Senior Lecturer; Respiratory Medicine

Dr Nick Watkins
Senior Lecturer

Dr Carys Watts
Senior Lecturer (Enterprise)

Dr Andreas Werner
Reader in Molecular Biology

Professor Michael Whitaker

Dr Simon Whitehall
Senior Lecturer

Dr Simon Wilkinson
Staff Scientist

Peter Wood
Laboratory Technician

Dr Michael Wright
Associate Clinical Lecturer

Professor Matthew Wright
Professor of Toxicology