People

The Executive Director is David Leat

The Business Development Director is Jill Clark

The Partnership Development Director is Rachel Lofthouse

There are three categories of membership of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching:

  • Members of the Centre;
  • Associates of the Centre;
  • Partners - including academic partners, institutional partners, student members, Emeritus staff, affiliated schools and Visiting Fellows - of the Centre.

Current Members and Associates of the Centre (A-Z) are:

Staff
Contact

Dr Wilma Barrow

Educational Psychologist

Email: w.barrow@ncl.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Ann Briggs
Professor of Educational Leadership
Email: Ann.Briggs@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Bryan Burford

Lecturer in Medical Education

Email: bryan.burford@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0191) 208 4580

Jill Clark
Senior Research Associate and Business Development Director of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching

Email: jill.clark@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5637

Dr Gail Edwards
Lecturer in Education

Email: gail.edwards@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6591

Dr Simon Gibbs
Reader in Educational Psychology

Email: simon.gibbs@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6575

Jon Haines

Lecturer, Secondary PGCE Science

Email: jon.haines@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: + 44 (191) 208 6597

Dr Elaine Hall
Lecturer
Email: elaine.hall@ncl.ac.uk
Dr Robin Humphrey
Director of Postgraduate Research Training Programme

Email: robin.humphrey@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6763

Dr Hanneke Jones
Teaching Fellow in Primary Education

Email: h.jones@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5460

Rene Koglbauer
Director of the North Leadership Centre; Director of Network for Languages North East

Email: rene.koglbauer@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8453

Karen Laing
CfLaT Research Associate

Email: k.j.c.laing@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8735

Professor David Leat
Prof of Curriculum Innovation and Executive Director of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching

Email: david.leat@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6578

Dr Mei Lin
Lecturer

Email: mei.lin@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5070

Rachel Lofthouse
Head of Teacher Learning and Development (Education Section) and Partnership Development Director of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching

Email: rachel.lofthouse@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6576

Dr Laura Mazzoli Smith
CfLaT Research Associate
Email: laura.mazzolismith@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6380
Professor Stephen McHanwell
Professor of Anatomical Sciences

Email: stephen.mchanwell@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 4561 (Medical Sciences Education Development) 0191 208 6652 (School of Dental Sciences)

Maria Mroz
Lecturer

Email: m.a.mroz@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6585

Dr Sue Pattison
Lecturer in Education and Communication and Director of Integrated Phd in Education and Communication

Email: susan.pattison@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7368

Dr Anna Reid
Visiting Lecturer

Email: a.j.reid1@newcastle.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6000

Dr Alina Schartner

CfLaT Research Associate

Email: alina.schartner@newcastle.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6000

Professor Sue Robson
Head of School

Email: sue.robson@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6760

Dr Heather Smith
Lecturer

Email: heather.smith@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6820

Ulrike Thomas
CfLaT Research Associate

Email: u.thomas@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5654

Lucy Tiplady
CfLaT Research Associate

Email: lucy.tiplady@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7449

Professor Liz Todd
Professor of Educational Inclusion

Email: liz.todd@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6572

Dr Pamela Woolner
Lecturer in Education

Email: pamela.woolner@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5470

David Wright
Senior Research Associate

Email: d.g.wright@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 3431

Dr Richard Young
Strategic Research Adviser

Email: richard.young@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 3607