People

The Executive Director is Jill Clark

The Co-directors are:

David Leat, Rachel Lofthouse and Pam Woolner

There are four categories of membership of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching:

  • Core members of the Centre;
  • Associate members of the Centre;
  • Student members of the Centre;
  • Partners - including academic partners, institutional partners, student members, Emeritus staff, affiliated schools and Visiting Fellows - of the Centre.

Current Members and Associates of the Centre (A-Z) are:

Staff
Contact

Dr Wilma Barrow

Educational Psychologist

Email: w.barrow@ncl.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Ann Briggs
Professor of Educational Leadership
Email: Ann.Briggs@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Bryan Burford

Lecturer in Medical Education

Email: bryan.burford@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0191) 208 4580

Kim Cowie

Lecturer in Education

Email: kim.cowie@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0191) 208 6371

Dr Jill Clark
Principal Research Associate and Executive Director of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching

Email: jill.clark@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5637

Dr Gail Edwards
Lecturer in Education

Email: gail.edwards@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6591

Dr Simon Gibbs
Reader in Educational Psychology

Email: simon.gibbs@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6575

Jon Haines

Lecturer, Secondary PGCE Science

Email: jon.haines@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: + 44 (191) 208 6597

Dr Robin Humphrey
Director of Postgraduate Research Training Programme

Email: robin.humphrey@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6763

Dr Hanneke Jones
Teaching Fellow in Primary Education

Email: h.jones@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5460

Rene Koglbauer
Director of the North Leadership Centre; Director of Network for Languages North East

Email: rene.koglbauer@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8453

Karen Laing
CfLaT Senior Research Associate

Email: k.j.c.laing@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8735

Professor David Leat
Prof of Curriculum Innovation and Co-Director of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching

Email: david.leat@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6578

Dr Mei Lin
Senior Lecturer

Email: mei.lin@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5070

Dr Rachel Lofthouse
Head of Teacher Learning and Development (Education Section) and Co-Director of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching

Email: rachel.lofthouse@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6576

Dr Laura Mazzoli Smith
Research Excellence Academy Fellow
Email: laura.mazzolismith@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6380
Professor Stephen McHanwell
Professor of Anatomical Sciences

Email: stephen.mchanwell@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 4561 (Medical Sciences Education Development) 0191 208 6652 (School of Dental Sciences)

Dr Maria Mroz
Lecturer

Email: m.a.mroz@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6585

Dr Sue Pattison
Lecturer in Education and Communication and Director of Integrated Phd in Education and Communication

Email: susan.pattison@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7368

Dr Anna Reid
Lecturer

Email: anna.reid@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6540

Dr Alina Schartner

Lecturer

Email: alina.schartner@newcastle.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8567

Dr Samantha Shields

Lecturer

Email: Samantha.Shields@newcastle.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6565

Professor Sue Robson
Senior Lecturer

Email: sue.robson@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6760

Dr Heather Smith
Senior Lecturer

Email: heather.smith@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6820

Ulrike Thomas
CfLaT Research Associate

Email: u.thomas@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5654

Lucy Tiplady
CfLaT Research Associate

Email: lucy.tiplady@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7449

Professor Liz Todd
Professor of Educational Inclusion

Email: liz.todd@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6572

Professor Caroline Walker-Gleaves Head of ECLS

Email: caroline.walker-gleaves@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6553

Dr Pamela Woolner
Senior Lecturer in Education and Co-Director of the Research Centre for Learning and Teaching

Email: pamela.woolner@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5470

Lydia Wysocki

Research Assistant

Email: lydia.wysocki@ncl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5194