Staff in the Literature Unit

English Literature And Language

Professor Linda Anderson
Professor of Modern English and American Literature

Dr James Annesley
Senior Lecturer in American Literature

Emeritus Professor Bruce Babington
Emeritus Professor

Emeritus Professor John Batchelor
Emeritus Professor

Emeritus Professor Thomas Cain
Strategic Research Advisor

Professor Kate Chedgzoy
Professor of Renaissance Literature: Head of School

Dr Ruth Connolly
Lecturer in 17th Century Literature

Dr Helen Freshwater
Reader in Theatre & Performance

Dr Abbie Garrington
Lecturer in 19th and 20th Century Literature

Dr Stacy Gillis
Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature

Professor Matthew Grenby
Professor of 18th-Century Studies

Emeritus Professor Claire Lamont
Emeritus Prof.

Dr Kirsten MacLeod
Lecturer in Eng Lit, Victorian/Modern

Dr Meiko O'Halloran
Lecturer in Romantic Literature

Professor Michael Pincombe
Professor of Tudor & Elizabethan Literature

Dr James Procter
Reader in Modern Eng & Postcolonial Lit

Professor Kim Reynolds
Professor of Children's Literature

Professor Peter Reynolds
Professor of Theatre Studies

Professor Jennifer Richards
Professor of Early Modern Literature & Culture

Dr Michael Rossington
Senior Lecturer in Romantic Literature

Dr Neelam Srivastava
Senior Lecturer in Postcolonial Literature

Professor Diana Whaley
Professor of Early Medieval Studies

Dr Anne Whitehead
Senior Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature