Head Of School

Dr James Annesley
Senior Lecturer in American Literature

School Manager

Lesley Lant
School Manager


Professor Linda Anderson
Professor of Modern English and American Literature

Dr James Annesley
Senior Lecturer in American Literature

Dr Harriet Archer
Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

Professor Kate Chedgzoy
Professor of Renaissance Literature

Dr Ruth Connolly
Senior Lecturer

Dr Katharine De Rycker
Research Associate

Dr Martin Dubois
Lecturer in Victorian Literature

Dr Ella Dzelzainis
Lecturer in Ninteenth-Century Literature

Dr Helen Freshwater
Reader in Theatre & Performance

Dr Stacy Gillis
Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature

Professor Matthew Grenby
Professor of 18th-Century Studies

Dr James Harriman-Smith
Lecturer in Restoration and Eighteenth-Century Literature

Dr Rosalind Haslett
Lecturer in Dramatic Literature

Dr Laura Kirkley
Lecturer in Eighteenth Century Literature

Dr Kirsten MacLeod
Lecturer in Eng Lit, Victorian/Modern

Dr Robbie McLaughlan
Lecturer in English Literature

Dr Aditi Nafde
Lecturer in Medieval Literature

Dr Alex Niven
Lecturer in English Literature

Dr Eliza O'Brien
Teaching Fellow

Dr Meiko O'Halloran
Lecturer in Romantic Literature

Dr Jennifer Orr
Lecturer in Eighteenth Century Literature

Dr Lucy Pearson
Lecturer in Children's Literature

Professor Michael Pincombe
Professor of Tudor & Elizabethan Literature

Dr James Procter
Reader in Modern Eng & Postcolonial Lit

Samantha Reive Holland
Teaching Fellow in Contemporary Literature

Professor Kim Reynolds
Professor of Children's Literature

Professor Jennifer Richards
Joseph Cowen Professor of English Literature

Professor Michael Rossington
Professor of Romantic Literature

Professor Julie Sanders
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (HaSS)

Dr Andrew Shail
Senior Lecturer in Film

Dr Neelam Srivastava
Senior Lecturer in Postcolonial Literature

Dr Fionnghuala Sweeney
Senior Lecturer in American Literature

Dr Anne Whitehead
Senior Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature

Language & Linguistics

Professor Karen Corrigan
Prof of Linguistics & English Language

Dr Cristina Dye
Lecturer (Assistant Professor) of Language Development/Psycholinguistics

Dr SJ Hannahs
Reader in Linguistics

Professor Anders Holmberg
Professor in Theoretical Linguistics

Gosia Krzek
Teaching Fellow

Dr Adam Mearns
Lecturer in the History of the English Language

Dr Heike Pichler
Lecturer in Sociolinguistics

Dr Geoffrey Poole
Senior Lecturer in Linguistics

Professor Maggie Tallerman
Professor of Linguistics

Dr Danielle Turton
Lecturer in Phonology

Dr William van der Wurff
Senior Lecturer in Linguistics

Dr Joel Wallenberg
Lecturer in Language Change (Linguistics and Eng Lang)

Professor Martha Young-Scholten
Professor of Second Language Acquisition

Creative Writing

Dr Tara Bergin
Lecturer in Poetry (Creative Writing)

William Fiennes
Lecturer in Creative Writing

Dr Tina Gharavi
Senior Lecturer in Digital Media/Film

Professor Bill Herbert
Professor of Poetry & Creative Writing

Dr Lars Iyer
Reader in Creative Writing

Professor Jackie Kay MBE
Professor of Creative Writing

Professor Sean O'Brien
Professor of Creative Writing

Jacob Polley
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing

Margaret Wilkinson
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing

Research Associates

Sue Bradley
Research Associate in Oral History

Dr Katharine De Rycker
Research Associate

Dr Helen Limon
Research Associate

Dr Jessica Medhurst
KTP Associate

Yvonne Ritchie
Assistant Project Manager

Dr Emma Short
Research Associate

Dr Ahren Warner

Dr Paul Wright
Research Associate

Royal Literary Fund Fellows

Ann Coburn
Creative Writing Fellow and Royal Literary Fund Fellow

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 3893

Dr Pippa Little
Royal Literary Fund Fellow

Emeritus Professors, Visiting Staff & Guests

Dr Brian Alderson
Guest Member of Staff

Professor David Almond
Distinguished Writing Fellow

Emeritus Professor Bruce Babington
Emeritus Professor

Emeritus Professor John Batchelor
Emeritus Professor

Emeritus Professor Noel Burton-Roberts
Emeritus Professor of English Language and Linguistics

Emeritus Professor Tom Cain
Emeritus Professor

Professor Michael Chaplin
Visiting Professor of Practice

Emeritus Professor Desmond Graham
Emeritus Professor

Professor Peter Hunt
Visiting Professor

Professor Val McDermid
Visiting Professor of Practice

Dr Hermann Moisl
Visiting Fellow

Dr Eliza O'Brien
Teaching Fellow

Emeritus Professor Peter Reynolds
Emeritus Professor

Professor Robert Thornton
Strategic Research Advisor

Emeritus Professor Diana Whaley
Professor of Early Medieval Studies

Emeritus Professor Terry Wright
Emeritus Professor


Lucy Bell
UG Clerical Officer

Melanie Birch
Marketing, Events and Postgraduate Administrator

Sherelle Coulson
UG, PGT and PGR Co-ordinator

Laura Elliott
School Research, Finance and HR Administrator

Emily Hale
UG Clerical Officer (Admissions)

Liz Kirkup
Clerical Officer

Technical Staff

Jeff Wilson
Computing, Technical and Safety Officer