School of Engineering

News items

Springer best paper prize for Mechanical Engineering staff

Drs Huo and Chen receive Springer 2016 B. John Davies Best Paper Prize

Mechanical Engineering staff Drs Wanqun Chen and Dehong Huo have been awarded Springer 2016 B. John Davies Best Paper Prize for their co-authored paper “A novel machine tool design approach based on surface generation simulation and its implementation on a fly cutting machine tool”, published in the International Journal of Advanced Manufacturing Technology (IJAMT), 80:829–837, 2015

The prize was first unveiled in 2014 for recognizing exceptional articles published in IJAMT, and to award authors for having made the significant contribution. The award was named after the late B. John Davies, the founding editor-in-chief of the journal.

 “After receiving 3,794 papers submitted for publication to the journal, and accepting 1,544 for publication, we are pleased to recognise the professors for their outstanding paper,” said Professor Andrew Y C Nee of the National University of Singapore, editor-in-chief for IJAMT. “The selection process was rigorous and involved several rounds of shortlisting, basing on nomination and comments from the reviewers and scrutiny by the regional editors. We are delighted to make them the 2016 winners for this prize from our journal – their paper deserves this recognition considering both outstanding scientific and application values.”

For further information contact Dehong Huo.

published on: 5 December 2016