Research Programmes

Research Programmes
Research programmes in Film Studies are available at two levels

This is a research-led programme also incorporating research training.

Postgraduate students research in film in three of our Schools:

Interdisciplinary supervision is common.

Some of our students

Current PhD students

Alex Adams (a.t.adams@ncl.ac.uk) – Political Torture in Film, Literature and Television
Louise Anderson (louise.anderson@ncl.ac.uk) – Audiences and their memories of newsreels and news theatres on Tyneside in the 1940s
Joe Barton (j.f.barton@ncl.ac.uk) – Film in the Digital Era
Helen Fenwick – (h.a.fenwick@ncl.ac.uk) – Adaptations of Neo-Victorian texts
Dan Horn ( dan.horn@ncl.ac.uk)-Comedic performance in the films of Mabel Normand
Eun-Jee Park (eun-jee.park@ncl.ac.uk) – Paternity in contemporary French Cinema
Gary Jenkins (gary.jenkins@ncl.ac.uk) –Representations of the Holocaust in post-1990 German, Israeli and US cinema
Amy Scott (a.c.scott2@ncl.ac.uk) – The Figure of the Journalist in 1920s and 1930s Film and Literature
Mani Sharpe (mani.sharpe@ncl.ac.uk) -- Algerian and French cinema of the 1960s
Fiona Smith (f.e.smith1@ncl.ac.uk)--Contemporary Hollywood Blockbusters and Culture relating to the Director

Completed PhDs

Erin Hill-Parks, Contemporary Hollywood blockbusters and culture relating to the director, 2011
Adam Jones, Between Self and Other: Abjection and Unheimlichkeit in the Films of David Lynch, 2011
Noel Brown, Hollywood, the family audience and the family film 1930-2010, 2010
Katherine Farrimond, The femme fatale in contemporary cinema.
Rebecca Naughten, Spain Made Flesh: Reflections and projections of the national in contemporary Spanish stardom, 1992-2007, 2010
Alexandria Tate, Outing Female Marginality: Queering the divide between spatially determined identity and temporal indeterminism on screen, 2009
Andrew Moor (Reader in Film, Manchester University), Alien Territory: Romantic resistance and national identity in films by Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger, 2000
James Leggott (Lecturer in Film, Northumbria University), A Topography of the British Social Realist Film: Troublesome bodies and gendered spaces from the new wave to the present, 2004
Robin Stoate (robin.stoate@ncl.ac.uk) – Cyberspace in Contemporary Film and Literature

Current MLitt Students
Dan Wu (dan.wu@ncl.ac.uk) – Hong Kong Cinema post-1997
Sam Cocksworth (s.e.cocksworth@ncl.ac.uk) – Representations of the Muslim ‘Other’ in Popular Culture from the Nineteenth Century to the Contemporary Era

Completed MLitts

Barbara Williams, Theatricality in British Heritage and Films of the 1980s, 2012
Ruth Bober, To what extent has the change in structure of the cinematic gaze altered the structure of the joke in French film comedy since the 1970s?, 2009
Jeremy Fisher, Influence, Perspective and Motive: Choices in the Adaptations of Stanislaw Lem’s Solaris, 2007
Colin le Sueur, Infection: Viral and Ideological Transmissions in American and Japanese Horror Films, 2006