HSS Banner

Doctoral Training Centre Contacts

The universities of Newcastle and Durham have joined forces to create the North East Doctoral Training Centre (NEDTC), which is funded and accredited by the ESRC. Please see the NEDTC website for further details.

If you wish to apply to study at Newcastle with ESRC funding, you must consult your prospective department or school to discuss your research plans and check that there is a member of staff who can supervise your chosen thesis before making a formal application. Contact details are listed below.

 

Subject Area

School

Contact

Economic & Social History

School of History, Classics and Archaeology

Dr Violetta Hionidou

Violetta.hionidou@ncl.ac.uk

Education

School of Education, Communication & Language Sciences

Dr Carolyn Letts

carolyn.letts@newcastle.ac.uk

Environmental Planning

School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape
Centre for Rural Economy

Professor Steve Graham

steve.graham@ncl.ac.uk
Mr Guy Garrod

guy.garrod@newcastle.ac.uk

Finance & Economics

Newcastle University Business School

Professor Colin Wren

colin.wren@ncl.ac.uk

Human Geography

School of Geography, Politics & Sociology

Dr Kate Manzo

kate.manzo@ncl.ac.uk

Iberian-American Studies

School of Modern Languages

Professor Rosaleen Howard

rosaleen.howard@ncl.ac.uk

Law

Law School

Dr Maria-Teresa Gil-Bazo

maria-teresa.gil-bazo@ncl.ac.uk

Linguistics

School of Education, Communication & Language Sciences
and School of English Literature, Language & Linguistics
and School of Modern Languages

Dr Carolyn Letts

carolyn.letts@newcastle.ac.uk

Dr S J Hannahs

s.j.hannahs@ncl.ac.uk

Management & Business Studies

Newcastle University Business School

Professor Frank Mueller

frank.mueller@ncl.ac.uk

Politics & International Relations

School of Geography, Politics & Sociology

Dr Anthony Zito

anthony.zito@ncl.ac.uk

Social Science & Health, including Psychology

Institute for Health & Society

Dr Katie Brittain

katie.brittain@ncl.ac.uk

Sociology

School of Geography, Politics & Sociology

Dr Simon Woods

simon.woods@newcastle.ac.uk