Professor John Isaacs
Institute Director

  • Email:
  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5851 (Institute Business) +44 (0) 191 208 5337 (Research Matters)
Deputy Director

Professor Andrew Mellor
Prof of Translational Immunology

Institute Manager

Beverly Brooks
Institute Manager

Academic Members

Professor Loranne Agius
Professor of Metabolic Biochemistry

Professor Simi Ali
Professor of Immunobiology

Dr Quentin Anstee
Clinical Senior Lecturer & Consultant Hepatologist

Professor Margaret Bassendine

Dr Venetia Bigley
Wellcome Intermediate Clinical Fellow

Professor Rudy Bilous
Dean of Clinical Affairs

Professor Mark Birch-Machin
(1) Associate Dean of Business Development and Commercial interface (2) Professor of Molecular Dermatology (3) Deputy Degree Programme Director MRes (Biotechnology) (4) Co-Founder:Genesis Genomics (now Mitomics) Inc (5) Co-Founder PB Bioscience Ltd

Professor Peter Blain CBE
Professor of Environmental Medicine

Professor Andrew Blamire
Professor of Magnetic Resonance Physics

Dr Malcolm Brodlie
MRC Clinician Scientist, Clinical Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Paediatric Respiratory Physician

Dr Judith Bulmer
Clinical Senior Lecturer/Consultant

Emeritus Professor Tim Cawston
Emeritus Professor

Professor Matthew Collin
Professor of Haematology

Professor Paul Corris

Professor Ann Daly
Professor of Pharmacogenetics and Associate Dean for Internationalisation (Faculty of Medical Sciences)

Professor John Dark
Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Dr Harish Datta
Consultant/Senior Lecturer

Professor Chris Day
PVC of Medical Sciences

Dr Anthony De Soyza
Clinical Senior Lecturer/Consultant

Professor Anne Dickinson
Professor of Marrow Transplant Biology

Dr Peter Donaldson
Senior Lecturer

Professor Nick Europe-Finner
Prof of Myometrial Science

Professor Andrew Fisher
Dean of Clinical Medicine and Professor of Respiratory Transplant Medicine

Professor Helen Foster
Prof of Paediatric Rheumatology

Dr James Garnett
Associate Lecturer

Dr Andrew Gennery
Clinical Reader/Consultant

Professor Sophie Hambleton
Professor of Paediatrics & Immunology

Dr Muzlifah Haniffa
Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow in Clinical Science, Lister Institute Prize Fellow, Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Dermatologist

Professor Claire Harris
Professor of Immunology

Dr Catharien Hilkens
Reader in Immunotherapy

Dr Kieren Hollingsworth
Lecturer in Magnetic Resonance Physics

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine

Professor David Jones
Professor of Liver Immunology

Professor Farhad Kamali
Prof of Human & Exp Pharm

Dr Neil Keegan
Senior Lecturer

Seamus Kelly
Consultant/Senior Lecturer

Professor John Kirby
Dean of PG Studies

Dr Andrew Knight

Dr Vijay Kunadian
Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Interventional Cardiologist

Dr Arian Laurence
Clinical Fellow/Honorary Consultant

Dr Desa Lilic
Consultant Immunologist and Clinical Senior Lecturer

Professor John Loughlin
Prof of Musculoskeletal Research

Professor Penny Lovat
Professor of Cellular Dermatology and Oncology

Dr Jelena Mann
Reader in Epigenetics

Professor Derek Mann
Prof of Hepatology

Dr Philip Manning

Dr Kevin Marchbank

Professor Sally Marshall
Professor of Diabetes

Professor John Mathers
Professor of Human Nutrition

Professor Calum McNeil
Professor of Biological Sensor Systems

Dr Peter Middleton

Professor Alan Murray
Professor of Cardiovascular Physics

Professor Julia Newton
Director of Newcastle Academic Health Partners & Clinical Professor of Ageing and Medicine

Professor Fai Ng
Professor of Rheumatology

Dr Fiona Oakley
Reader in Fibrosis Biology

Dr Steve Parry
Clinical Senior Lecturer/Consultant

Professor Robert Pickard
Professor of Urology

Dr Arthur Pratt
Intermediate Clinical Fellow, Honorary Consulatant Rheumatologist

Professor Philip Preshaw
Professor of Periodontology

Dr Carole Proctor

Professor Nick Reynolds

Professor Stephen Robson
Professor of Fetal Medicine

Professor Drew Rowan
Professor of Molecular Rheumatology

Professor James Shaw
Professor of Regenerative Medicine for Diabetes and Honorary Consultant Physician

Professor Neil Sheerin
Professor of Nephrology

Professor John Simpson
Dean of Translational Research & Professor of Respiratory Medicine, Newcastle University

Dr Gavin Spickett
Consultant/Senior Lecturer

Professor Emma Stevenson
Prof of Sport & Exercise Science

Professor Michael Taggart
Chair of Reproductive Sciences

Dr John Taylor
Senior Lecturer in Molecular Immunology

Professor Roy Taylor
Director of Newcastle Magnetic Resonance Centre

Dr Peter Thelwall
William Leech Reader in Magnetic Resonance Physics

Dr Matthew Thomas
Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer

Professor Simon Thomas
Prof of Clin Pharmacology & Therapeutics

Dr Dina Tiniakos
Clinical Senior Lecturer/Hon. Consultant in Cellular Pathology

Professor Michael Trenell
NIHR Senior Research Fellow & Director, MoveLab; Physical Activity & Exercise Research

Dr Alison Tyson-Capper
Faculty Postgraduate Tutor (Associate Dean), Senior Lecturer

Professor Mark Walker
Professor of Molecular Diabetic Medicine

Dr Xiao Wang
Senior Lecturer

Dr Christopher Ward
Senior Lecturer; Respiratory Medicine

Dr Jolanta Weaver
Senior Lecturer

Professor Matthew Wright
Professor of Toxicology

Professor David Young
Professor of Musculoskeletal Biology