Athena Swan Silver Award

Athena SWAN

Newcastle University was awarded the Athena SWAN (Scientific Women's Academic Network) bronze award in 2009 (renewed in 2012). This national award recognises good employment practice and the promotion of women working in science, engineering and technology. athena swan logo

IHS is committed to providing a good working environment for its staff and follows the six principles of the Athena Swan Charter which is managed by the Equality Challenge Unit, an advocate for equality and diversity for staff and students in higher education (Equality Challenge Unit ). In recognition of this commitment, IHS had its silver Athena SWAN award renewed in November 2014 - having first achieved a silver award in 2011, and was the first academic department at Newcastle University to achieve this status. This level of award particularly acknowledges significant and sustained progression and achievement in promoting gender equality.

Membership of the Athena SWAN Steering Group:

For further information on the Athena SWAN Charter for Women in Science, please go to their website:Athena SWAN


@Athena_SWAN on twitter: Athena Swan twitter page