School of Marine Science and Technology | Staff grouped by Role

Staff grouped by Role

Head Of School

Professor Andrew Willmott
Head of School

Academic Staff

Dr Hamed Aghajani
Research Associate

Dr Nicholas Aldred
SAgE Research Fellow

Professor Mehmet Atlar
Professor of Ship Hydrodynamics

Dr Jonathan Barnes
Research Associate

Dr Simon Benson

Dr Per Berggren
Senior Lecturer

Professor Richard Birmingham
Professor of Small Craft Design

Professor Grant Burgess
Professor of Marine Biotechnology

Dr Ian Buxton
Visiting Professor

Dr Gary Caldwell
Senior Lecturer in Applied Marine Biology

Dr Burak Cerik
Lecturer in Marine Structures

Dr Nianzhong Chen
Senior Lecturer in Offshore Structures

Dr Cheng Chin
Senior Lecturer in Marine Mechatronics Design

Professor Tony Clare
Professor of Marine Science and Coordinator of marineNewcastle

Dr Sofia Cota Franco
Research Associate

Dr Jane Delany
Senior Lecturer

Dr Arun Dev
Senior Lecturer

Professor Bob Dow
Professor of Marine Structures

Professor Martin Downie
Technology in the Marine Environment

  • Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6716

Dr John Finlay
Research Associate

Dr Clare Fitzsimmons

Dr Andrew Guerin
Research Associate

Dr Maryam Haroutunian
Lecturer in Marine Technology

Dr Uchenna Kesieme
Research Associate

Professor D John Mangan
Professor of Marine Transport and Logistics

Dr Sara Marsham
Lecturer (Teaching and Scholarship)

George Mitchell
Senior Experimental Assistant

Dr Miguel Morales Maqueda
Senior Lecturer in Oceanography

Dr Alan J Murphy
Associate Dean (Engineering Excellence)

Dr Rosemary Norman

Emeritus Professor Peter Olive
Emeritus Professor

Dr Kayvan Pazouki
Lecturer in Marine Technology

Dr Ryan Pereira
Research Associate

Professor Nick Polunin
Professor of Marine Environmental Science

Dr Yongchang Pu

Dr Narakorn Srinil
Senior Lecturer in Subsea Engineering & Pipeline Technologies

Professor Selina Stead
Professor of Marine Governance and Environmental Science

Paul Stott
Senior Lecturer

Dr Heather Sugden
Teaching Fellow

Dr Francesca Tagliaferri
Teaching Fellow

Dr Ivan CK Tam
Senior Lecturer & Director of Operations

Professor Longbin Tao
Lloyd's Register Chair of Offshore Engineering

Dr David Trodden
Research Associate

Dr Serkan Turkmen
Research Associate

Dr Guenther Uher

Professor Robert Upstill-Goddard
Professor of Marine Biogeochemistry

Dr Xin Wang
Lecturer in Naval Architecture

Dr Ben Wetenhall
Teaching Fellow

Dr Benjamin Wigham
Lecturer in Marine Biology

Dr Dawei Wu
Lecturer in Marine Engineering

Dr Wenxian Yang

Administrative Staff

Amanda Benson
Distance Learning Programme Co-ordinator

Clare Bowes
School Resources Support Assistant

Helen Clough
PA to Head of School

Vicky Coulson
Senior Programme Co-ordinator and School Office Manager

Jill Cowans
Secretary and Events Co-ordinator

Anthony Gibson
School Finance Co-ordinator

Sheree Ibbetson
Marketing and Communications Officer

Jayne Masterson
Deputy School Manager

Lisa Nesbit
Programme Secretary UG (Marine Science)

Mandy Phillips
Programme Secretary

Cheryl Savage
Programme Secretary

Lesley Walker
Programme Secretary

Christine Wright
School Manager

Head Of School

Professor Andrew Willmott
Head of School

Technical Staff

Neil Armstrong
Master of Research Vessel

Lena Brown
Apprentice Technician

Kieron Fallows
Mechanical Technician

Robert Hindhaugh
Senior Mechanical Technician

Ian Howard-Row
Senior Instrumentation Technician

John Knowles
Marine Laboratory Technician/ Boat Crew

Phil Letouze
Mechanical Technician

Peter McParlin
Research Technician

George Mitchell
Senior Experimental Assistant

Ian Paterson
Mechanical Technician

Barry Pearson
First Mate & Standby Skipper

George Politis
Emerson Cavitation Tunnel Lab Manager

Liam Rogerson
Electrical and Electronics Technician

Brenden Ward
Computing Officer (SAgE - MAST)

David Whitaker
Marine Science Laboratory Manager

Visiting Lecturers

Dr Ian Buxton
Visiting Professor