Tees Base Unit

The Tees Base Unit is located in the south of the Region and has close links with both Newcastle and Durham University, where a number of senior clinicians provide support to the Phase I medicine programme which is delivered at Queen’s Campus Stockton. Approximately 180 students are allocated to the Tees Base Unit each year, although in addition a number choose to study at the Base Unit hospitals as part of the student selected component of the programme.

The Base Unit enjoys excellent facilities which are highly regarded by current students; the hospitals which make up the Tees Base Unit are:

  • James Cook University Hospital (South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)
  • University Hospital of North Tees (North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Darlington Memorial Hospital (County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Friarage Hospital, Northallerton (South Tees NHS Foundation Trust)
  • Bishop Auckland Hospital (County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust)

In addition, the Base Unit enjoys a close relationship with a significant number of General Practices where students spent time both in 3rd and Final Year, and is able to draw upon the services of the Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust to provide teaching and learning opportunities in this key area.

The Base Unit Sub-Dean is Dr Dominic Johnson, Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist at Roseberry Park Hospital in Middlesbrough and he is supported by a team of senior clinical teachers and administrative staff. The Base Unit Office is located at James Cook University Hospital.

Hospitals in the Base Unit enjoy an excellent reputation for Foundation Training programmes following graduation, and offer a number of clinical academic foundation programmes, as well as the traditional foundation programmes of clinical rotations.