The Flambard Poetry Prize




First prize: £1000

Second prize: £250


We are very pleased to announce the 2016 Flambard Poetry Prize, which continues to honour the achievements of Flambard Press and the inspiration of founders Margaret and Peter Lewis. Between 1990 and 2012, Flambard Press published an acclaimed range of poetry and fiction, helping to nurture many emergent and established writers regionally and nationally. It was recognised as one of the finest small independent presses in the UK.

The Flambard Prize is awarded annually to the best group of five poems submitted by a poet who has not yet published a single-authored pamphlet or collection. Each poem should be no longer than 40 lines.

The cost of entry is £5 per group of five poems.

The closing date for the 2016 competition is:
31st October 2016.

Entries will be judged by Linda France and Andrew Forster.

Entries can be made via the Newcastle University WebStore or by posting hard copies to:
Newcastle Centre for the Literary Arts,
Percy Building,
Newcastle University,
Newcastle Upon Tyne,

Payment should be made online or by enclosing a cheque made payable to "University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne" with your entries.

If you have any further questions, please email NCLA at


The Judges:

Linda France has published eight poetry collections since 1992, including The Gentleness of the Very Tall (a Poetry Book Society Recommendation), The Toast of the Kit Cat Club, book of days and, her most recent, Reading the Flowers (Arc 2016). She also edited the ground-breaking anthology Sixty Women Poets (Bloodaxe 1993). Her poem ‘Bernard and Cerinthe’ won First Prize in the 2013 National Poetry Competition. Linda’s work has appeared in anthologies, magazines, newspapers, on radio and TV, in public art installations and other collaborations with visual and sound artists.   


Andrew Forster published two collections of poetry with Flambard Press: ‘Fear of Thunder’ (2007) and ‘Territory’ (2010), and, more recently, ‘Homecoming’ (2014), with Smith Doorstop. ‘Fear of Thunder’ was shortlisted for the 2008 Forward Prize for Best First Collection and two poems from it, ‘Horse Whisperer’ and ‘Brothers’, appeared in the AQA GCSE syllabus. ‘Homecoming’ was shortlisted for the Lakeland Book of the Year in 2015 and was a ‘Read Regional’ title for 2016. He has read his work at events and festivals throughout the UK and Europe, and as part of the annual ‘Poetry Live’ series, alongside Carol Ann Duffy, Simon Armitage and John Agard.

From 2003 to 2008 he was Literature Development Officer for Dumfries & Galloway Arts Association, and from 2008 until 2015 he was Literature Officer with the Wordsworth Trust.  He is co-editor of the online poetry magazine ‘The Compass’ and runs a number of projects freelance, including the Michael Marks Awards for Poetry Pamphlets. He is working on a Creative Writing PhD, on Poetry and Environmentalism, at Manchester Metropolitan University. 


The Flambard Poetry Prize is proudly sponsored by The Friends of Newcastle University Library


Competition rules:


Each poem submitted must be no more than 40 lines long. The title is not included in the line count.

All entries are judged anonymously: do not include your name on the document.

Entries can be on any subject and written in any style or form.

Entrants may enter any number of groups of up to five poems.

Entrants may withdraw entries from the competition, but entry fees will not be refunded.

The deadline for entries is 12 midnight (BST) on 31st October 2016. Any entries arriving after this time will not be considered.


The Prize is open to writers resident in the UK who have not yet published or self-published a single-authored pamphlet or collection in any language or territory worldwide. By entering the competition, you confirm that you are a UK resident and have not previously published.

Entries must be entirely the work of the entrant and by submitting you are confirming that all work is your own.

The poems entered must never have been published, self-published, published on any website, blog or online forum, broadcast, nor have won or been placed (as in 2nd, 3rd, runner-up, etc.) in any other competition.

Simultaneous submissions are not accepted.

Entries submitted posthumously or on behalf of another person will not be eligible.


£5 for each group of up to five poems to be paid via the NCLA webstore or cheque made out to "University of Newcastle upon Tyne".

Entry format

Entries must be written in English.

Poems to be single-spaced and a line count noted at the top of each poem, or at the beginning of the document.

Entries must show no name, address or identifying marks other than the title. For postal entries, please include your name and contact details (ideally including an email address) on a separate covering letter.

Online entries should be a single file containing all five poems, to be submitted online once the entry fee is paid.

The file type of online entries must be either a .doc, .docx, .rft, .pdf or .txt file.

Under no circumstances can alterations be made to poems once entered.


Worldwide copyright of each entry remains with the author, but NCLA may seek persmission to publish winning and shortlisted entries online and in a printed anthology.

Judging & results

Prizewinners will be invited to an award ceremony that will take place towards the end of 2016.

The judges' decision is final and no individual correspondence can be entered into.