Newcastle Centre for the Literary Arts

News Items

Winners of the 2017 Basil Bunting Poetry Award announced

NCLA is thrilled to announce the winners of this year’s Basil Bunting Poetry Award, judged by Ahren Warner.


The 2017 first-, second- and third-place prizes were announced at an event at the Newcastle Poetry Festival on Saturday.


1st prize - Jo Young (Canopoly)

2nd prize - Lisa Higgs (Wild Honey Has The Scent of Freedom)

3rd Prize - Peter Dukes (Tragic, Super-Tragic)


Congratulations to all the winners, and to our shortlisted poets, Roland Bagnall, Michael Brown, Paul Stephenson and Jack Houston.

Read the prize-winning poems on the NCLA Archive.

published on: 18 May 2017