School of Pharmacy

Durham Transfer

Durham Transfer

The School of Pharmacy was established in August 2017 following the transfer of Durham's School of Medicine, Pharmacy and Health.

In July 2016, the governing Councils of the universities of Durham and Newcastle agreed to transfer Durham’s School of Medicine, Pharmacy and Health to Newcastle University.

The new School of Pharmacy was established and the transfer of staff and students was completed in August 2017.

Students who started their studies in Durham will complete their degrees here at Newcastle.

In September 2017 Newcastle University launched its new Master of Pharmacy (MPharm) programme which builds on the expertise and experience of Durham.

The General Pharmaceutical Council (GPhC) is responsible for regulating pharmacy professionals and registered pharmacies in Great Britain. We are working towards a full accreditation from the General Pharmaceutical Council (GPhC), for our MPharm degree. The full details of our most recent accreditation visit can be downloaded from the GPhC website.