International (Non EU) students

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

Value of award

Number of awards


Start date and duration

Commences September 2018 for one year only.

Application closing date

The closing date for receipt of applications is 17 April 2018.


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Commission and the University to contribute to development needs of Commonwealth countries by providing training for skilled and qualified professionals who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom. The intended beneficiaries are high-quality postgraduate students who have not studied extensively overseas before and who have the potential to enhance the development of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire.

The University has received 8 awards under this scheme to support scholars commencing their studies in 2018/19. The awards are available to students taking the following courses:

Eligibility Criteria

To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, you must:

Eligible Commonwealth Countries:

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

Selection Criteria

In order to be considered for awards, by the 17 April deadline, applicants must:

How to apply

You must apply through the University’s online postgraduate application form to study an eligible Master’s course (please see list of eligible courses above) and then apply for the scholarship.

To apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship please complete the Electronic Application Form here:

The deadline for receipt of applications is Tuesday, 17 April 2018.


Student Financial Support
Newcastle University
King's Gate
Newcastle upon Tyne
United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 191 208 8107/5537

Eligible Courses