Browse Experts by expertise

All Experts > Medical Sciences > Cancer

Showing experts 1-9 of 9

Professor Mark Birch-Machin media star
 

Telephone:
+44 (0)191 208 5841 (work)
+44 (0)7743 896440 (out of hours)
e-mail:
mark.birch-machin@ncl.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Skin cancer. Genetics of skin cancer. Pigmentation, skin colour. Tanning.
  • Sunburnt DNA, Mitochondrial DNA UV rays
  • Photoageing Anti-oxidants in cosmetics Anti-Oxidants in the diet and the benefit on skin Dangers of high altitude living/leisure regarding sun exposure
  • Sun awareness, the effects of sunlight on human skin, and the effectiveness of sunscreens

Professor Nicola Curtin
 

Telephone:
+44 (0)191 208 7850 (work)
e-mail:
press.office@ncl.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Experimental Cancer Therapeutics
  • 'Smart' cancer drugs

Mr Seamus Kelly
 

Telephone:
+44 (0) 191 293 2532 (work)
e-mail:
seamus.kelly@ncl.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Colorectal surgery
  • Laparoscopic surgery
  • Surgical oncology
  • Colonoscopy

Professor Thomas Lennard
 

Telephone:
+44 (0) 191 208 7067 (work)
e-mail:
thomas.lennard@ncl.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Endocrine (Glands) and General Surgery
  • Keyhole (laporoscopic) surgery and its development
  • Breast cancer
  • Associate member of the General Medical Council with particular interest in factors which affect doctors' performance

Professor John Lunec
 

Telephone:
+44 (0) 191 208 8057 (secretary) (work)
john.lunec@ncl.ac.uk (out of hours)
e-mail:
sandra.cartwright@ncl.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Cancer Molecular Biology

Professor Herbie (David) Newell
 

Telephone:
+44 (0) 191 208 4401 (secretary) (work)
e-mail:
herbie.newell@nc.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Cancer research
  • Development of new treatments for cancer

Professor Craig Robson
 

Telephone:
+44 (0) 191 208 4266 (work)
e-mail:
c.n.robson@ncl.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Prostate cancer
  • Mechanisms of hormone receptor action in development and progression of prostate cancer
  • Molecular and cellular biology of prostate cancer
  • Identification and characterisation of novel genes associated with development of prostate cancer

Professor Janet Wilson
 

Telephone:
+44 (0) 191 223 1086 (work)
07766297359 (out of hours)
e-mail:
janet..wilson@ncl.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Voice and throat disorders in profssional voice users
  • Nasal disease, catarrh, snoring
  • Swallowing problems
  • Hoarseness

Dr Kevin Windebank
 

Telephone:
+44 (0) 191 282 1366 (work)
e-mail:
kevin.windebank@ncl.ac.uk
Specialist expertise:
  • Childhood and adolescent cancer
  • Leukaemia
  • Lymphoma
  • Langerhans cell hystiocytosis