School of Modern Languages staff

Head Of School

Professor Nigel Harkness
Head of School

Administrative Staff

Shelley Barnes
Clerical Assistant

Marion Burn
Undergraduate Secretary

Nicola Davison
Office Manager & UG Administrator

Aisling Hood
Postgraduate Officer

Dawn Pinkerton
Year Abroad Administrative Officer

Lesley Sherrin
School Administrator

Carolyn Taylor
Research Support Officer

Sheryl Thompson
Clerical Assistant

Anne Toward
PA to HoS & School Administrator, SML

East Asian Studies

Kumi Casey
Teaching Fellow in Japanese Language

Linda Cheng

Melissa Fang
Teaching Associate of Chinese Language

Dr Gitte Marianne Hansen
Lecturer in Japanese Studies

Professor Jun Qian
Professor Qian Jun 錢俊 (Qian Suoqiao 錢鎖橋) Chair of Chinese Studies and Director of the Confucius Institute

Dr Joanne Smith Finley
Senior Lecturer in Chinese Studies

Dr Shiro Yoshioka
Lecturer in Japanese Studies

Dr Sabrina Yu
Senior Lecturer in Chinese and Film Studies

French Studies

Professor Guy Austin
Professor of French Studies

Professor Máire Cross
Professor of French Studies

Dr Hugh Dauncey
Senior Lecturer

Dr Myriem El Maizi
Lecturer in French

Dr Damien Hall
Lecturer in French Linguistics

Professor Nigel Harkness
Head of School

Dr Pauline Henry-Tierney
Lecturer in French Translation

Dr Sarah Leahy
Senior Lecturer

Dr Franck Michel
Senior Lecturer

Dr JC Penet
Lecturer in French and Translation Studies

Dr Kathryn Robson

Dr Sandra Salin
Lecturer in French

Professor Richard Waltereit
Prof of Romance Linguistics

German Studies

Dr Elizabeth Andersen
Visiting Fellow

Okke Baumbach

Dr Carol Fehringer
Senior Lecturer

Dr Teresa Ludden
Lecturer in German

Dr Beate Muller
Reader in Modern German Studies

Dr Tom Smith
Teaching Fellow in German

Andrea Wilczynski
Senior Lecturer

Spanish, Portuguese And Latin American Studies

Samuel Anaya-Guzman

Dr Jorge Catala-Carrasco
Senior Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Dr Josep Cru Talaveron
Teaching Fellow in Spanish Language

Dr Dunja Fehimovic
Lecturer in Spanish & Portuguese

Dr Fruela Fernandez
Lecturer in Spanish Translation

Professor Jens R Hentschke
Professor of Latin American History and Politics, Habil., FRHistS - Deputy Head of School, Director for Postgraduate Research, Degree Programme Director for Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies, President of the Society for Latin American Studies

Lucy Hill
Spanish language teacher

Professor Rosaleen Howard
Chair of Hispanic Studies

Professor Ian MacKenzie
Professor of Spanish Linguistics

Dr Nick Morgan
Lecturer in Latin American Studies

Dr Patricia Oliart
Lecturer in Latin American Studies

Dr Philippa Page
Lecturer in Hispanic Studies

Francina Payeras Rebassa
Lecturer in Catalan

Dr Conceicao Pereira
Lecturer in Portuguese, Co-ordinator of the Portuguese Language Centre - Camões ICL

Angela Uribe de Kellett

Translation And Interpreting Studies

Dr Ya-Yun Chen
Lecturer in Chinese Interpreting and Translating

Dr Michael Jin
Lecturer in Translation & Interpreting

Dr Francis Jones
Reader in Translation Studies

Eric Liu
Senior Lecturer

Dr Valerie Pellatt
Reader Chinese Translation Interpreting

Dr Fred Wu
Senior Lecturer in Translating & Interpreting

Phoebe Yu
Lecturer in Translating and Interpreting

Part-time Staff

Sarah Bennison

Tim Cai
Visiting Lecturer

Harumi Cavanagh

Dr Helen Ferstenberg

Meng Jin
Visiting Lecturer

Mani King Sharpe
Teaching Assistant

Felix Lossio Chavez
Guest Member of Staff

Palma Mackenzie

Caroline Mason

Antje Moench

Carole Moore

Patricia Moran

Isabelle Ruegg Alter

Etsuko Suda

Chia-Ying Yang
Chinese T&I Teacher

Katrin Zimmermann
Visiting Lecturer

Maria Zubelzu de Brown