Criteria For Exemptions

To be exempt you must be able to satisfy one of the criteria listed below

  • You have attended and completed one of the INTO preparatory programmes, including Pre-Sessional English, English for University Study, International Foundation, International Diploma, or Graduate Diploma
  • You have attended INTO Newcastle University In-Sessional classes in 2013-14
  • You have taken the UELA at any time since September 2012
  • You have taken one of the following English tests in the last 24 months and have achieved a minimum score of:
    • IELTS 7.0+ (min.7.0 in all 4 skills)
    • ESOL Skills for Life Level 2 Pass
    • Certificate in Advanced English: Grade A
    • Certificate of Proficiency in English: Grade B
  • You have successfully completed an undergraduate degree or post graduate qualification within the last 12 months with at least 2 full years being completed in a recognised majority English speaking country. (See countries listed below)
  • You have obtained Grade C or above in UK GCSE, AS or A Level English within the last two years
  • You have achieved one of the following International secondary qualifications within the last two years:
International Secondary Qualifications Assessment Authority Level Required
European Baccalaureate (English 1st or 2nd language)
International Baccalaureate English A1 IBO

Standard level: 4
Higher level: 4

International Baccalaureate English A2 IBO Standard level: 5 Higher level: 4
International Baccalaureate English B IBO Standard level: 6 Higher level: 5
O Level English Language
(1115, 1119, 1120, 1123, 1125, 1126, 1127)
Cambridge International Examinations C

Please note:

Following investigations into fraud in a different English Language Test which is set and marked by the same organisation as TOEFL, a decision has been made to temporarily remove TOEFL from the exemption criteria for the UELA.

List of countries recognised by Newcastle University for exemption from the UELA

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America