Skip to main content


Join us in fondly remembering those members of our alumni community who have passed away.

Honouring the lives of your fellow alumni

We’re deeply saddened to announce the deaths of our Newcastle University alumni and supporters.

Below you'll find the obituaries of those we've lost in the last 12 months. We update this list monthly.

Deceased NU alumni


Course Title


Class of

Mr AA Fogarasy      
Mr Andrew M O'Shaughnessy MBBS MBBS 1995
Dr Anthony J Mudd Agricultural Biochemistry PhD 1966
Mr Benjamin J Bolton Agricultural and Environmental Science BSc 1978
Dr Brien Roy MBBS MBBS 1956
Miss Catharine M Haines Zoology BSc 1960
Mr Charles J Knight Applied Science BSc 1966
Mrs Christine H Connearn Psychology BSc 1979
Mrs Christine H Merrell MEd MEd 1995
Dr Christine Moxon MBBS MBBS 1971
Emeritus Professor Claire Lamont      
Mr Cliff Martindale   BSc 1959
Mr Colin G Atkinson Economics  BA (Hons) 1958
Mr David G Buffin Agricultural Zoology BSc 1983
Dr David J Cawthorne MBBS MBBS 1947
Mr David L Pritchard   MA 1971
The Revd David R Boulton Education BEd 1976
Mr Desmond J McHugh Economics BA (Hons) 1974
Mrs Doris R Burwood Education BPhil 1987
Mr Douglas Mennear Town and Country Planning BA (Hons) 1959
Mr Edward D Cooper   MSc 1969
Mrs Elaine Rigg Geography & Botany   1975
Dr Elise M Vandervelde MBBS MBBS 1961
Mrs Elizabeth Daniels MBBS MBBS 1949
Dr Elizabeth Grisenthwaite MBBS MBBS 1958
Mrs Elizabeth M Bavidge OBE JP Arts BA (Hons) 1967
Mr Eric Bell      
Professor Sir Eric J Thomas MBBS MBBS 1976
Mr Frederick Lilley      
Dr George R Cottrell MBBS MBBS 1945
Mr Harry Belafonte   Hon DCL 1998
Emeritus Professor Harry Marsh   DSc 1973
Dr James T Bowman CBE   DMus 1996
Mrs Janet P Goddard     1988
Ms Jean M Harris Economic and Social Studies BA (Hons) 1968
Mr John A Dalton Technology in the Marine Environment MRes 2000
Mr John B Mayne Civil Engineering BSc 1969
Dr John D Hodgson MBBS MBBS 1955
Mr John Harbottle Education MEd 2001
Dr John Muncaster MBBS MBBS 1960
Mr John P Wilkinson Arts BA Hons 1970
Dr John W Bull      
Miss Kara T Russell Clinical Psychology PhD 2004
Mr Kevin R McAleavy Art BA (Hons) 1965
Miss Leah M Smith Foundations in Clinical Psychology  MSc 2022
Mr Leon M Blythe Biology (Cell & Mollecular Biology) BSc 2019
Dr Lesley Lord MBBS MBBS 1967
Sir M Scott Architecture BA (Hons) 1949
Mr Martin C Wright Mechanical Engineering BSc 1982
Mr Michael G Tibbetts Civil Engineering BSc 1965
Mr Michael Lacy Education MEd 1983
Emeritus Professor Sir Michael Rawlins   Hon DCL 2008
Mr Mick Bond      
Dr Nigel H Hall Agriculture BSc / PhD 1964 / 1977
Dr Nigel R Adams BDS BDS 1969
Mr Paul J Sartin Music MA 2005
Mr Peter Atkinson Naval Architecture BSc 1960
Professor Peter Britton Psychology PhD 1967
The Revd Randolph Vickers FCIB FCIM Applied Theology MA 1993
Mrs Rebecca Robertson   MA 1979
Sir Robert Malpas CBE Mechanical Engineering BSc  1947
Dr Roger M Edwards   BDS 1972
Mr Ronald Kerr      
Mr RR Dukes      
Professor Saleemul Huq      
Mr Sjg Brown      
Professor Stanley Openshaw Geography BA (Hons) 1968
Mr Stuart Irvine Town Planning BA (Hons) 1997
Professor Stuart G Parker   MD  
Mr Thomas Rillands TD Business Administration MBA 1990
Mr Tor Moinichen Naval Archtecture BSc 1974
The Rt Hon The Viscount Walter G Runciman CBE FBA   Hon DCL 2012
Dr Walter J Atkinson MBBS MBBS 1959
Dr William G Roberts English Literature PhD 1994
Emeritus Professor William McFarlane