Athena SWAN


Athena SWAN Committees

Self-Assessment Team

Our Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team (SAT) leads and supports the award submission process and tracks progress of our Action Plan 2020-24.

This plan identifies five strategic areas which will help to address gender inequality in STEMM:

  • support structures
  • career advice and support
  • communication
  • key transition points, appointments and promotion
  • policies and procedures

The team has representation from both men and women, at different stages of their academic careers. Read our Terms of Reference‌. Administrative support staff help to organise meetings and follow up actions.

If you wish to give feedback on the Athena SWAN Action Plan 2020-24 or discuss any gender issues, please contact one of our team members.

Members of the Self-Assessment Team


Professor Judith Rankin, Dean of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Adrienne McFarland, Executive Director of People Services

Academic representatives

  • Professor Julie Sanders, Deputy Vice Chancellor
  • Professor Kate Chedgzoy, Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion - HASS
  • Dr Amy Reeve and Dr Damian Parry, Co-Directors or Equality, Diversity and Inclusion - FMS
  • Dr Sharron Kuznesof, Director of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion - SAgE
  • Dr Stacy Gillis, Chair of NU Women - HASS
  • Dr Jonathan Goss, Senior Lecturer, School of Engineering - SAgE
  • Dr Meenakshi Swamy - NuREN representative - FMS

Representatives from Student, Professional Service and Technical staff groups

  • Paul Britton – Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Freya Douglas-Oloyede – Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Adviser.
  • Chris Stanley – Head of Talent Acquisition
  • Louise Wright – Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Adviser- FMS
  • Malasree Home – Race Equality and Accreditation Adviser
  • Vi Parker – EDI Trainer
  • Mel Leitch – Deputy Head of Infrastructure
  • Carolyn Laws – Internal Communications Manager
  • Gareth Longstaff – Rainbow Network Chair
  • Sam Taylor
  • Sarah Anderson
  • Sharon Mcteer
  • NUSU Sabbatical Officer