School of English Literature, Language and Linguistics

Athena Swan

Athena Swan

We aim to provide a fair and supportive working environment for all staff and students. We are committed to the guidelines set out in the Athena Swan Charter.

Bronze Award

Newcastle University supports the Athena Swan charter.
The School of English Literature, Language and Linguistics holds a Bronze Award.

Athena Swan Bronze Award

Our self-assessment team with responsibility for Athena Swan initiatives:

  • Ruth Connolly -  Chair of SAT
  • Laura Elliott - ​School Research, Finance and HR Administrator
  • Ros Haslett - Lecturer in Dramatic Literature
  • Lesley Lant - School Manager
  • Geoff Poole - Subject Head, Linguistics
  • James Procter - Director of Research, Interim Head of School
  • Neelam Srivastava - Chair of the EDI committee
  • Leanne Stokoe - Lecturer in Eighteenth-Century Literature
  • Rebecca Woods - Lecturer in Language and Cognition
  • Anna-Louise Howarth - Stage 3 UG and Chair of UG Staff-Student Committee
  • Amy Longdown - Stage 1 UG and EDI Representative
  • Chiara Pellegrini Giampietro - PG Staff-Student Committee

Silver Award

Newcastle University was successful in achieving a Silver institutional award in April 2016.  

Find out more about the University's commitment to Athena Swan and our Gender Pay Gap Report.


Athena Swan Silver Award