National Roles





Professor Chris Day

Vice-Chancellor and President

  • Board member: N8 (approx four times a year)
  • Russell Group (approx eight times a year)
  • Member Universities UK (six times a year)
  • Medical Research Council Board Member (seven/eight times a year)
  • Medical Schools Council Executive (six times a year)
  • Medical Schools Council (four times a year)
  • Northern Health Science Alliance Board Member (six times a year)
  • Honorary Vice President (Clinical) Academy of Medical Sciences (12 times a year)

Professor Julie Sanders

Deputy Vice-Chancellor


  • Leadership Foundation for Higher Education TMP Professional Reference Group (twice a year)
  • Trustee of Northern Stage

Professor Suzanne Cholerton

PVC Education

  • Russell Group meetings for PVCs Learning and Teaching (twice a year)
  • Higher Education Academy, meetings for L&T PVCs (twice a year)
  • Member of Burgess Implementation (HEAR) Steering Group (two/three times a year)
  • Member of Council of Healthcare Science (twice a year)
  • BIS Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) Expert Group (meetings on an ad hoc basis as arranged by BIS)

Professor David Burn

PVC Medical Sciences

  • Medical Schools Council (four times a year)
  • Board member, North East & North Cumbria Academic Health Science Network  (six times a year)
  • Chair, NIHR Translational Research Collaboration in Dementia (approx four meetings a year)
  • National Clinical Director, Parkinson’s UK (approx four meetings a year)
  • Honorary Secretary, Association of British Neurologists (approx four meetings a year)
  • Trustee and Chair, Research Advisory Panel, Multiple System Atrophy Trust (three times a year)

Professor Richard Davies

PVC Global

  • Advisor to the All Party Parliamentary Group for Unconventional Oil and Gas
  • Board member of NE1 (four times a year)
  • NE1 Executive Committee (four times a year)
  • Board member: NewcastleGateshead Initiative (NGI) (four times a year)
  • INTO Board (three times a year )

Professor Brian Walker

PVC Research Strategy and Resources

  • Director of Roslin Technologies Ltd (four times a year)
  • Medical Research Council Panel Member (seven times a year)
  • Board member, Actinogen Medical (virtual board)
  • Chair, British Heart Foundation Project Grants Committee (four times a year)
  • N8 Executive Management Group (six times a year)
  • Russell Group PVC Research (three times a year)
  • Academy of Medical Sciences Sectional Committee (twice a year)
  • Russell Group Post-18 Review of Fees and Funding Advisory Group (three times a year)

Professor Nigel Harkness



  • President of the Society of Dix-Neuviémistes

Professor Phillip Wright


  • BBSRC Industrial Biotechnology and Bioenergy Strategy Advisory Panel (twice a year)

Dr John Hogan


  • AHUA Conference (twice a year)
  • AHUA Executive (four times a year)
  • AHUA Northern Regional Group (three times a year)
  • Russell Group Registrars (three times a year)
  • Chair, AUA Perspectives Editorial Board (twice a year)
  • HEFCE Prevent External Advisory Group (two-three times a year)

Mr Richard Dale

Executive Director of Finance

  • British Universities Finance Directors' Group (BUFDG) (three times a year)
  • Russell Group Finance Directors’ meetings (three times a year )
  • Director of the North East Universities Purchasing Consortium
  • Chair, Higher Education Procurement Association
  • EPSRC Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (five-six times a year)

Ms Abi Kelly

Executive Director of Corporate Affairs


  • Russell Group Communications Directors Forum (four times a year)
  • N8 Lead for Communications (four times a year)


Jenn Allison
Executive Office Manager
Secretary to Executive Board

2 February 2018