Human Nutrition Research Centre

Research Seminars

Research Seminars

We host a weekly Seminar Series which includes national and international speakers. The seminars are an opportunity for local researchers to present findings from their most recent research projects.

  • Prof Jason Gill, University of Glasgow

    Date/Time: Monday 20 March, 1-2pm

    Venue: Med.L2.8, 2nd Floor, Leech building

  • Isabel Skypala, Royal Brompton & Harefield Hospitals

    Date/Time: Monday 6th March, 12-1pm

    Venue: via Zoom - see advert flyers

  • Dr Sophie Phillips, Post-doctoral research associate, PEDAL, University of Cambridge

    Date/Time: Monday 20 February, 1-2pm

    Venue: MED.L2.3, 2nd Floor, William Leech Building

  • Dr Michelle Harvie, Research Dietitian, Prevent Breast Cancer Research Unit, Manchester University Hospital Foundation NHS Trust

    Date/Time: Monday 6th February, 1-2pm

    Venue: Via Zoom

  • Dr Susanna Mills, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 30 January, 1-2pm

    Venue: MED.L2.3, 2nd Floor, William Leech Building

  • Dr Sarah Berry, Reader, Kings College London

    Date/Time: Monday 21 November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • PGR Session (speakers TBC)

    Date/Time: Monday 12th December, 1-2pm

    Venue: TBC

  • Prof Lorraine Brennan, University College Dublin

    Date/Time: Monday 14 November, 12.30pm - 1.30pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • Prof Johannes von Lintig, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, USA

    Date/Time: Monday 7 November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • Dr Kieran Smith, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 31 October, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • The 2021-2022 Seminar Series is now over. The 2022-2023 Series will be posted here in due course.

  • Jen Bradley, Research Assistant, PHSI, Newcastle University. Pre-Viva Presentation

    Date/Time: Monday 20 June, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • Prof Sarah R Baker, University of Sheffield

    Date/Time: Monday 13th June, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Dr J Bernadette Moore, University of Leeds

    Date/Time: Monday 6th June, 1-2pm

    Venue: MED.David Shaw Lecture Theatre

  • Adele Hug, Specialist Oncology Dietitian, Hug Nutrition

    Date/Time: Monday 16th May, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • Dr David Hughes, University College Dublin

    Date/Time: Monday 9th May, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Prof Chris Seal, Emeritus Professor, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 25 April, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Laura Haigh, Colette Kirk and David Bourne

    Date/Time: Monday 7 March, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Prof Hamish McAllister-Williams, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 14th February, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Dr Laura Basterfield, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 31st January, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Prof John Blundell, University of Leeds

    Date/Time: Monday 17 January, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Dr Rachel Turnbull, Academic Health Science Network for the North East and North Cumbria

    Date/Time: Monday 13th December, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • Dr Pauline F.D. Scheelbeek, Assistant Professor in Nutritional & Environmental Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

    Date/Time: Monday 6th December, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • Dr Bina Ram, Imperial College London

    Date/Time: Monday 22nd November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Dr Reina Engle Stone, University of California, Davis, USA

    Date/Time: Monday 8th November, 4-5pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Dr Duika Burges Watson, PHSI, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 1st November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Dr Elisa Miles, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 18th October, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • Prof Ana M Valdes, University of Nottingham

    Date/Time: Monday 25th October, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom - please see advert flyers

  • Dr Francene M. Steinberg, Professor and Chair, Department of Nutrition. Director, Didactic Program in Dietetics Nutritionist in Agricultural Experiment Station. UC Davis California

    Date/Time: Monday 24th May, 4-5pm

    Venue: Zoom - see below

  • Shireen Kassam, Consultant Haematologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer at King’s College Hospital

    Date/Time: Monday 17th May, 1-2pm

    Venue: Via Zoom link - see below

  • Dr Catherine Méplan, Lecturer in Genetics, BNS School, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 26th April, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Dr Frances Hillier-Brown, Lecturer, Public Health Nutrition, PHSI, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 19th April, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom

  • Dr Angela Jones, Dr Lorraine McSweeney and Hannah Batten, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 12th April, 1-2pm

    Venue: Via Zoom

  • Dr Daniela Barile, Professor and Chemist, Food Science and Technology, UC Davis California

    Date/Time: Monday 22nd March, 4-5pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Moneeza Siddiqui, Dundee University

    Date/Time: Monday 15th March, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Susan Lennie, Senior Lecturer. School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sports Science

    Date/Time: Monday 22nd February, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Claire McEvoy, Institute for Global Food Security, Centre for Public Health, Queen's University Belfast

    Date/Time: Monday 8th March, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Adem Dawed, Principal Investigator (Tenure Track), Population Health and Genomics, School of Medicine, Dundee University

    Date/Time: Monday 15th February, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Orla Collins, Lecturer in Food Marketing, Applied Social Sciences, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 8th February, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Adrian Holliday, Lecturer in Exercise Physiology. School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sports Science.

    Date/Time: Monday 1st February, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Justin Lang, Public Health Agency of Canada

    Date/Time: Monday 25th January, 3-4pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Carl Hulston, Senior Lecturer, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 18th January, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Cecilia Samieri, PhD, tenure-track researcher INSERM (French National Institute for health) and University of Bordeaux, France

    Date/Time: Monday 11th January, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Prof James Betts, University of Bath

    Date/Time: Monday 7th December, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Prof Peter McCaffery, University of Aberdeen

    Date/Time: Monday 30th November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Prof Jeff Breckon, Sheffield Hallam University, Head of Research in Sport, Professor in Physical Activity Behaviour Change

    Date/Time: Monday 23rd November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Charles Stephensen, Professor of Nutrition, University of California, Davis & Research Leader, Immunity and Disease Prevention Research Unit, USDA Western Human Nutrition Research Centre in Davis, CA

    Date/Time: Monday 16th November, 4-5pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Prof Marie Murphy, Dean of Postgraduate Research and Director of the Ulster Doctoral College, Ulster University

    Date/Time: Monday 9th November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Dr Ben Wall, University of Exeter

    Date/Time: Monday 2nd November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Zoom link below

  • Ana Vinuela, PhD, NUAcT Fellow: Data Science in Health, Biosciences Institute, Newcastle University

    Date/Time: Monday 5th October, 1-2pm

    Venue: Via Zoom link - see below

  • Mohammed Salman (PGR) - "Investigating flavour-nutrient learning in human using novel-flavoured, selenium fortified biscuits"

    Date/Time: Thursday 5th March, 1-2pm

    Venue: Colin Ingram seminar room, Henry Wellcome building

  • Dr Oliver Shannon, Population Health Sciences Institute - "Talking Greek: Translating the Mediterranean diet into a UK-based dementia risk reduction strategy"

    Date/Time: Monday 9th March, 1-2pm

    Venue: L2.7, William Leech Building

  • Dr Kevin Deighton, Leeds Beckett University - 'Appetite and energy balance responses to exercise and dietary interventions'

    Date/Time: Monday 10th December, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.8 Leech Building

  • Carl Brandt - Long-term Lifestyle Change Intervention and E-health Applications- A qualitative interview study

    Date/Time: Monday 11th June, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.3 Leech Building

  • Prof Moira Dean - Cooking skills: Key to a healthy diet?

    Date/Time: Monday 21st May, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.3 Leech Building

  • Dr Mosharraf Sarker, Teesside University - "Modulation of macrophage function by Lactobacillus-conditioned medium"

    Date/Time: Monday 24th February, 1-2pm

    Venue: L2.6, William Leech Building

  • Prof Kevin Tipton, Durham University - "You know nothing Jon Snow: Nutrition for prevention and treatment of sport-related brain injuries"

    Date/Time: Monday 27th January, 1-2pm

    Venue: L2.6, William Leech Building

  • Ms Susan Lennie, Senior Lecturer, School of Biomedical, Nutritional and Sports Sciences - "Dietetics at Newcastle University"

    Date/Time: Monday 13th January, 1-2pm

    Venue: Room L2.7, William Leech Building

  • Dr Laura Basterfield - "Physical Fitness and Quality of Life in Children"

    Date/Time: Monday 2nd December, 1-2pm

    Venue: Room L2.8, William Leech Building

  • Prof Peter Rogers, Bristol University - "‘Saucepan and bathtub’: a model of human appetite and weight control "

    Date/Time: Monday 9th December, 4-5pm

    Venue: Room L2.8, William Leech Building

  • Dr Kirsten Brandt - “Is micronutrient intake regulation accumulative or homeostatic?”

    Date/Time: Monday 18th November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Room L2.2, William Leech Building

  • Prof John Mathers - "A new look at the role of dietary fibre in cancer prevention"

    Date/Time: Monday 4th November, 1-2pm

    Venue: Room L2.5, William Leech Building

  • Laura Bordoni, University of Camerino - “Platelet mitochondrial DNA methylation and CVD risk: which role for trimethylamine-N-oxide and carnitine supplementation?”

    Date/Time: Monday 28th October, 1-2pm

    Venue: Room L2.5, William Leech Building

  • Prof Steve Quarrie, University of Belgrade - “Understanding the determinants of school children's food preferences”

    Date/Time: Thursday 24th October, 1-2pm

    Venue: Room L2.5, William Leech Building

  • Dr Julia Allan, University of Aberdeen - “Increasing the availability of healthy snack options in Scottish hospitals: Is it enough?”

    Date/Time: Monday 14th October, 1-2pm

    Venue: Room L2.5, William Leech Building

  • Prof John Mathers - 'How healthy is your diet? Objective measurements using metabolomics'

    Date/Time: Monday 7th January, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.5 Leech Building

  • Dr Suzanne Spence & Grace Gardner - “Approaches to improve what children and young people eat and drink through the Change4 life ‘Sugar Smart’ campaign (marketing) and the school environment (product placement)”

    Date/Time: Monday 10th June, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.2 Leech Building

  • Dr Diarmuid Coughlan - 'Association between Physical Activity, Body Mass Index and Dietary Intake with Healthcare Costs: A Cohort Study of Older Americans'

    Date/Time: Monday 25th March, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Prof Marion M. Hetherington, University of Leeds - 'The portion size effect and strategies for downsizing in children'

    Date/Time: Tuesday 18th June, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.5 Leech Building

  • Prof Colum Walsh, Ulster University - 'EpiFASSTT- Epigenetic effects on children’s psychosocial development in a randomised trial of Folic Acid Supplementation in Second and Third trimester'

    Date/Time: Monday 3rd June, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.2 Leech Building

  • Dr Suzanna Forwood, Anglia Ruskin University - "Applying cognitive science to food choice: what do we really know?"

    Date/Time: Wednesday 22nd May, 2-3pm

    Venue: L2.2 Leech Building

  • Dr Sheena Ramsay - "Observational studies of ageing: what are we measuring and what does it mean?"

    Date/Time: Monday 20th May, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.2 Leech Building

  • Dr Bess Caswell, Postdoctoral Scholar, Department of Nutrition, University of California, Davis - "Applications and next steps for tablet-based 24-hour recalls"

    Date/Time: Tuesday 2nd April, 1-2pm.

    Venue: L2.5 Leech Building

  • Prof Moffat Nyirenda, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine - "The NCD epidemic in Africa - a metabolic legacy of early undernutrition?"

    Date/Time: Monday 8th April, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.8 Leech Building

  • Prof Sian Robinson - 'Nutritional strategies to prevent and treat sarcopenia – what’s the evidence?'

    Date/Time: Monday 1st April, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Prof Ashley Adamson - "Childhood obesity; they should do something about that"

  • Prof Tim Schulz, DiFE, Potsdam, Germany - 'The role of adipocytic lineages in the development of age-related disorders'

    Date/Time: Monday 4th March, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Prof Paul Haggarty - 'From Genomes to Public Health Nutrition'

    Date/Time: Monday 25th February, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.3 Leech Building

  • Prof Anne Marie Minihane, University of East Anglia - 'n-3 fatty acids, cardiovascular and cognitive health: the truth behind this fishy tale'

    Date/Time: Monday 11th February, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Dr Karen Keane - ‘The application of tart cherries: From molecules to men’

    Date/Time: Monday 4th February, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Prof Daniel Nettle - 'Food insecurity and fatness: Evidence from birds and hints from humans'

    Date/Time: Monday 28th January, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Dr Emma Allott, Queen's University Belfast - 'Molecular epidemiology research to inform prostate cancer prevention efforts'

    Date/Time: Monday 14th January, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Dr Emma Wightman - Does Mountain tea intake improve cognition in older adults?

    Date/Time: Monday 26th November, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.4 Leech Building

  • Dr Wendy Wrieden & Cassey Muir - The Booze, the Binge and the Bulge: Findings from the FOrwaRD study (Food, Obesity and Risky Drinking)

    Date/Time: Monday 12th November, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Rory Morrison - The influence of Vitamin D on outcomes following total hip and knee replacement

    Date/Time: Monday 19th November, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.5 Leech Building

  • Dr Raul Bescos - Understanding the role of nitrate and nitrite in vascular control: where are we going?

    Date/Time: Monday 22nd October, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Prof Margaret Allman-Farinelli - Diet and nutrition during young adulthood

    Date/Time: Tuesday 24th July, 1-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Prof Jonathan Wells - Body composition changes during and following malnutrition in children, and their long-term consequences

    Date/Time: Monday 23rd July, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Prof Helen Truby - Nutrition in Pregnancy: From basic science to translation

    Date/Time: Monday 9th July, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Wasim Iqbal, Food and Human Nutrition undergraduate intern - Human Nutrition Research Centre

    Date/Time: Monday 18th June, 1-2pm

    Venue: L2.3, William Leech Building

  • Helen Brooker - Platform for Research Online to investigate Genetics and Cognition in Ageing (PROTECT)

    Date/Time: Monday 4th June, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.3 Leech Building

  • Dr Luca Panzone - The Impact of Environmental Recall and Carbon Taxation on the Carbon Footprint of Supermarket Shopping

    Date/Time: Monday 30th April, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.3 Leech Building

  • Prof John Mathers - “Using big data in human intervention studies: lessons from the Food4Me Study”

    Date/Time: Monday 23rd April, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.3 Leech Building

  • Jennifer Ford - “Population-based approach to study vitamin A stores in children using compartmental analysis”

    Date/Time: Friday 16th March April, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: Room 2.04A Ridley Building 1

  • AJ Joel - BORICC Follow up(BFU) study - A novel longitudinal observational follow up study

    Date/Time: Monday 12th March, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.3 Leech Building

  • Dr Laura Johnson, Bristol University

    Date/Time: Monday 19th February, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.5 Leech Building

  • Khalil ElGendy - DNA methylation as a biomarker of colorectal cancer risk: evaluation of surrogate tissues

    Date/Time: Monday 12th February, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.5 Leech Building

  • Fiona Graham - University of Sheffield

    Date/Time: Monday 5th February, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.5 Leech Building

  • Dr Mario Siervo - Assessment of dietary nitrate intake and effects on cognitive function and cerebral blood flow

    Date/Time: Monday 26th February, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.5 Leech Building

  • Prof Paula Moynihan - Systematic review on starch and oral health: Update of WHO Guideline on carbohydrates

    Date/Time: Monday 20th November, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: D7.021, Dental School

  • Professor Glenn Gibson, Department of Food and Nutritional Sciences, University of Reading

    Date/Time: Monday 20th November, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: Baddiley Clark Seminar Room

  • Dr Sophie Cassidy - Lifestyle, Weight Loss, and Type 2 diabetes

    Date/Time: Monday 30th October, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Dr Aaron Koshy - Heart failure & LVAD (left ventricular assist devices); Exercise as a predictor of long term outcomes.

    Date/Time: Monday 13th November, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L2.6 Leech Building

  • Nuno Mendonca (PGR) - Dietary intake, B vitamins and health outcomes in the very old: analysis of the Newcastle 85+ Study

    Date/Time: Monday 2nd October, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: L.2.7 2nd Floor, Leech Building

  • Prof Emma Stevenson - Protein for life: Towards a focused dietary framework

    Date/Time: Monday 16th October, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: AGRB.3.02, Agriculture Building

  • Dr Amanda Palmer - Biofortification of staple crops for vitamin A deficiency control in Sub Saharan Africa: the pathway to impact

    Date/Time: Thursday 28th September, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: Room L2.7, Leech building

  • PhD Presentations by Chanachai Sae-Lee and Estelle Rickelton

    Date/Time: Monday 18th September, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: William Leech Building, Room L2.6

  • Dr Hyang-Min Byun - Introduction to Project ELEFANT (Environmental and LifEstyle FActors iN metabolic health throughout life-course Trajectories)

    Date/Time: Monday 11th September, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: William Leech Building, Room L2.6

  • Chris Holmes - Healthy Takeaways

    Date/Time: Monday 4th September, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: William Leech Building, Room L2.6

  • Summer Break - The HNRC Seminar Series will resume in September after the summer break.

  • PhD Presentations: TBC

    Date/Time: Monday 23rd October, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: TBC

  • Dr Mario Siervo - Sarcopenic obesity and association with physical disability, cardio-metabolic risk and overall mortality

    Date/Time: Monday 10th July, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: William Leech Building, Room L2.6

  • Dr Susanna Mills - Cooking at home: insights, challenges and opportunities

    Date/Time: Monday 3rd July, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: William Leech Building, Room L2.6

  • Ailsa Marsh - Investigating flavour-nutrient learning in humans using selenium-enriched parsnips

    Date/Time: Monday 12th June, 1pm-2pm

    Venue: William Leech Building, Room L2.6