Linguistics at Newcastle

European Network for the Study of Andean Languages

European Network for the Study of Andean Languages (REELA)


REELA is a network of scholars engaged in research on the Amerindian languages of Andean South America (Quechua, Aymara, Uru-Chipaya and others), as well as the varieties of Spanish spoken in areas of contact with indigenous languages.

The network was set up in March 2003 as the outcome of a Round Table on current Andean language research, held at the University of Bonn and convened by Sabine Dedenbach-Salazar, the late Alfredo Torero, and Rosaleen Howard. REELA's focus of interest are the indigenous Andean languages and their associated cultures covering a region stretching from southern Colombia to northwest Argentina, taking in the highlands of Ecuador, Peru and Bolivia, and some areas of the Andean foothills to the east. REELA members' interests include the following:

  • descriptive linguistics of Andean languages
  • dialectology of the Andean languages
  • historical and comparative linguistics of Andean languages
  • linguistic theory in relation to Andean language research
  • contact linguistics of the Andean region
  • oral tradition in the Andean languages
  • written literature in the Andean languages
  • indigenous political movements and language policy
  • education policy for speakers of Andean languages
  • language planning and literacy in the Andean languages
  • philological research into colonial Andean texts
  • ethnographic research into Andean verbal performances

Membership is open to all engaged in scholarly research: you may have a record of publication in these or other relevant areas, or you may be embarked on postgraduate research. If you are interested in joining our list please contact Rosaleen Howard or Sabine Dedenbach-Salazar.


Find out about the members European Network for the Study of Andean Languages (REELA).

Willem F H Adelaar - Leiden University Centre of Linguistics, Universidad de Leiden, Holanda.

Hernán Aguilar S - Universidad Técnica de Berlin, Alemania. 

Teofilo Laime Ajacopa - Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgique. 

Astrid Alexander-Bakkerus - Amsterdam Centre for Language and Communication (ACLC), Universiteit van Amsterdam (UvA).

Vito Bongiorno - Institut für Altamerikanistik und Ethnologie, Institute VII.

Luis Andrade Ciudad - Departamento de Humanidades, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú.

Matt Coler - University Groningen.

Sabine Dedenbach-Salazar Sáenz - School of Arts and Humanities, Division of Literature and Languages University of Stirling.

Patricia Dreidemie - Instituto de Investigaciones en Diversidad Cultural y Procesos de Cambio, Universidad Nacional de Río Negro. 

Patience Epps - University of Texas at Austin. 

Martina Faller - School of Languages, Linguistics and Languages, The University of Manchester. 

Hans M Fernández Benítez - Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg. 

Hans Fernández - Instituto de Romanística, Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Austria. 

Rik van Gijn - University of Zurich.

Katja Hannß - Department of Linguistics, General Linguistics, University of Cologne (Germany). 

Katja Hanss - University of Konstanz (Germany).

Paul Heggarty - Dept of Linguistic and Cultural Evolution, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Human History, Jena, Germany. 

Rosaleen Howard - School of Modern Languages, Newcastle University. 

César Itier - Institut National des Langues et Civilisations Orientales (INALCO, Paris). 

Pieter Muysken - Radboud Universiteit Nijmegan. 

Hella Olbertz - Universidad de Amsterdam. 

Nicholas Ostler - Foundation for Endangered Languages. 

Tristan Platt - University of St Andrews. 

Xavier Pello - Institut D' Etudes Politiques de Toulouse / CELIA (CNRS). 

Charles M Pigott - Leverhulme Early Career Fellow, Centre of Latin American Studies, University of Cambridge. 

Matthias Urban - Leiden University Centre for Linguistics, Leiden University.