Vice-Chancellor's Education Excellence Awards

The Vice-Chancellor’s Education Excellence awards aim to raise the status of education at Newcastle University by rewarding those individuals and teams who make a marked impact on enhancing our student educational experience.

The Award is open to all members of staff, at Newcastle, NUIS, NUMed and NUL, whose work enhances the student educational experience. In addition applications are welcome from staff of associated employers with direct and substantive involvement in the delivery of the student experience at Newcastle, for example, staff of INTO Newcastle University. Groups of colleagues who work closely together are invited to apply for the team award.

We are pleased to announce that the 2019 Vice-Chancellors Education Excellence Awards application process is now open to receive submissions for this years award.

If you would like to be considered, you should submit to a document of no more than two sides of A4 listing key activities/markers undertaken by the applicant, against the criteria for the award.

The closing date for this submission is the 17th of April 2019 at 9.00am. Shortlising will take place and successful nominees will be invited to the panel meeting on the 9th of May 2019.

The awards fall into the following 2 categories:

Category 1: Individual award

  • Up to 4 awards for individual members of staff (academic or professional) whose contribution to education at Newcastle is exceptional

Category 2: Team award

  • Up to 1 award for teams of staff (either academic or professional services staff, or teams consisting of both) whose contribution to education at Newcastle is exceptional.

Documentation to support your application

For further information on the process see: process and form completion notes.

Applicants please also see the Appendix 1: Guidance notes to help you as you complete the forms.

Please contact if you have any questions about the awards or process.

2018 Award Winners

Individual awards
  • Dr Alison Graham, School of Natural and Environmental Sciences
  • Dr Patrick Rosenkranz, School of Psychology
  • Dr Simon Tate, School of Geography, Politics and Sociology
Team award
  • School of Biomedical Sciences Professional Services Team

Previous Award Winners


  • Dr Sara Marsham
  • Ms Louise Campbell (Professional Staff Award)


  • Dr Clare Guilding
  • Dr J C Penet


  • No awards were made in 2015.


  • Dr Lindsay Marshall, School of Computing Sciences
  • Dr Sue Thorpe, School of Psychology
  • Dr Alison Tyson-Capper, Institute of Cellular Medicine
  • Dr Christie Harner, SAgE Faculty Office (Professional Staff Award)


  • Dr Alison Dunn, Newcastle Law School, HaSS
  • Dr James Field, School of Dental Sciences, FMS
  • Dr Patricia Oliart, School of Modern Languages, HaSS
  • Ms Katie Wray, SAgE Faculty Office (Societal Challenge Award)
  • Ms Sandy Alden, Student Wellbeing (Professional Staff Award)


  • Dr Debra Bevitt, Senior Lecturer, Biomedical Sciences
  • Dr Jean Hall, Lecturer, Civil Engineering & Geosciences
  • Dr Venda Pollock, Senior Lecturer in Art History, Arts and Cultures


  • Dr Peter Hopkins, Reader in Social & Political Geography, Geography, Politics & Sociology
  • Professor John Kirby, Professor of Immunobiology, Institute of Cellular Medicine and Faculty Postgraduate Tutor
  • Dr Jane Webster, Senior Lecturer in Historical Archaeology, Historical Studies
  • Dr Sue Haile, University Sustainability Advisor, Chemical Eng & Advanced Materials (Societal Challenge Award)


  • Dr Jarka Glassey, Senior Lecturer, Chemical Engineering and Advanced Materials
  • Dr Tom Joyce, Senior Lecturer, Mechanical and Systems Engineering
  • Dr Franck Michel, Lecturer in French, School of Modern Languages
  • Professor Julia Newton, Clinical Professor of Ageing and Medicine, Institute for Ageing and Health (Societal Challenge Award)