Skip to main content

Clinical Academic Office

Clinical Academic Office

We facilitate clinical academic training and a first-class clinical research workforce.

There are close to 400 NHS clinicians holding associate or honorary University status. This recognises their role in research and/or teaching in the Faculty.

The Faculty of Medical Sciences hosts:

  • over 120 University employed senior clinical academics
  • around 150 clinical academic trainees 

The Clinical Academic Office (CAO) oversees:

  • Job Planning
  • Appraisal
  • other employment related issues for University employed Clinicians 

University Status for Clinicians 

Many clinicians employed in the NHS and other healthcare organisations hold a formal University status. This recognises the work they do in partnership with Newcastle University. We value our relationships with these organisations. They are essential to the success of our Faculty and generating impact.

The Clinical Academic Office administers Honorary and Associate University status for clinical staff.  This acknowledges their contribution to teaching and/or research in the Faculty of Medical Sciences. 

Applications for University status must be supported by the relevant unit. Schools for teaching contributions or Institutes for research collaboration. If you wish to apply for University status please email our people services team who will provide the necessary paperwork to complete.

University status is awarded for 3 years and is renewable. Those with honorary University status can apply for academic promotion via the University’s annual process.

The CAO Team

The CAO offers support and assistance to AFP, ACF, and ACL trainees and works alongside Health Education England and NHS Trusts.

The CAO offers information and assistance with all aspects of the training pathway including:

  • EXCITE programme - Fellowship applications, mock interview panels, and access to past successful applications.
  • NIHR Clinical Academic Training Pathway
  • Honorary contract applications
  • Bursary applications
  • AFP rotation and supervisor queries

Administration Team

Teresa Conlin works with Dr Gillian Vance on the Academic Foundation Programme. 

Sharon Gilmore works with Professor John Sayer on external fellowships, and Dr Malcolm Brodlie on our ACF and ACL programmes.

Toni Bell works with Professor Andrew Fisher on honorary contracts and bursary applications.