Faculty of Medical Sciences


Newcastle Liver Research Group

The group is internationally recognised in the field of liver research.

Theme Leader

Professor Derek Mann (Head of Research Group) and Dr Quentin M. Anstee (Clinical Research Lead)

Major Research Themes

The Newcastle Liver Research Group maintains critical mass to support on-going research in the field of hepatology, genetics and liver biology and provides a forum to support bi-directional translational research and collaboration.


With a membership comprising basic-scientists and clinician-scientists, the liver research group provides a forum for 'cross-pollination' of ideas between related disciplines. This grouping has already successfully translated a number of basic research projects 'to the bedside' where clinical trials are on-going examining novel anti-fibrotic approaches to slow fibrosis in fatty liver disease.

Members of the group are advancing research in the fields of:

  • non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD)
  • primary biliary cirrhosis (PBC)
  • alcoholic liver disease
  • hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC)
  • genetic and epigenetic modifiers of liver disease severity (in patient cohorts and animal models)
  • tissue fibrosis

Within these areas we are leaders in several national and international clinical research collaborations including the H2020 funded 'Elucidating Pathways of Steatohepatitis' (EPOS) consortium, ‘UK Genetics of Liver Disease’ (UK GoLD) consortium and the ‘UK-PBC’ consortium.

Staff List

Professor Quentin Anstee
Professor of Experimental Hepatology & Consultant Hepatologist

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7012

Professor Ann Daly
Professor of Pharmacogenetics

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7031

Professor Chris Day
Vice-Chancellor & President

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6064

Professor David Jones
Professor of Liver Immunology

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7572

Professor John Kirby
Dean of Postgraduate Research

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7057

Professor Derek Manas
Hon Clin Prof of Transplantation

Professor Jelena Mann
Professor of Epigenetics

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5902

Professor Derek Mann
Dean of Research and Innovation

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 3851

Professor Fiona Oakley
Prof of Fibrosis Biology

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 3852

Professor Helen Reeves
Professor of Liver Cancer & Honorary Consultant Gastroenterologist

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 4423

Professor Matthew Wright
Professor of Toxicology

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7094