Global Opportunities



All Students

Passport validity

If you are planning to travel to an EU country (except Ireland), or Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino or Vatican City, you must follow the Schengen area passport requirements.

Your passport must be:

  • Issued less than 10 years before the date you enter the country (check the ‘date of issue’)
  • Valid for at least 3 months after the day you plan to leave (check the ‘expiry date’)

All students should note Bulgaria is not part of the Schengen area. This means you can spend 90 visa free days in Bulgaria without affecting your Schengen visa-free days.

All students can enter Bulgaria for up to 90 days in a 180-day period for the following activities:

  • Tourism
  • Visiting for family or friends
  • Attending business meetings
  • Cultural or sports event
  • Short-term studies or training