School of Natural and Environmental Sciences

Event items


Highlighting the latest breakthroughs in microbial electrochemistry research and applications of Bioelectrochemical systems.

Date/Time: 12-14 September 2018

Venue: Newcastle University

ISMET is the leading organisation for research into microbial electrochemical technologies. These fascinating technologies use bacteria fed on waste organics to generate electrical current. The drive towards global sustainability has resulted in an explosion of research in this field since 2005, attracting pioneers from multiple traditional disciplines ranging from electrochemists, microbiologists to sanitation engineers. It is our great pleasure to invite you to the forthcoming EU-ISMET 4, which will take place in Newcastle from 12 to 14 September 2018. Abstract submission remains open until 15 May.

Following the very successful meeting in Rome, EU-ISMET 4 will mark the return to the roots of the Bioelectrochemical Systems. Indeed, it all started here in Newcastle in 1911, when M.C. Potter reported for the first time the possibility to generate electricity from E. coli. Newcastle and the wider region of Northumberland is steeped in history and culture, which we hope you will get to explore. The conference dinner will be held at a local brewery, giving you a chance to sample our famous ales.

We will strive to make this three day meeting a global forum for the scientific and industrial communities to discuss the latest advances in research and industrial application of microbial electrochemical technologies. The meeting will highlight the latest breakthroughs in microbial electrochemistry research and applications of Bioelectrochemical systems, covering topics from fundamentals to scale-up processes, Bioremediation, Resource Recovery and many more.

The three-day conference will begin with the traditional ISMET workshop in which lectures ranging from molecular scale to scaled-up processes will be given by Dr. Anemiek Ter Heijne, Dr. Yuri Gorby, Prof. Tom Curtis and Prof. Ulrich Stimming.  At the conference itself, sessions and keynote presentations will be given by Prof. Yuje Feng, Dr. Alain Bergel, Prof. Ioannis Ieropoulos, Prof. Derek Lovley, Prof. Cess Buisman, Prof. Rachel Armstrong and Prof. Lars Peter Nielsen. Roundtables will be led by Prof. Bruce Logan and Prof. Korneel Rabaey.

See our website for further details, or contact us at