International (Non EU) students

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Scheme

Value of award

Tuition fees, living expenses, return economy air fare, study travel grant towards the costs of study-related travel within the UK or overseas plus a warm clothing allowance.

Number of awards


Start date and duration

Commences September 2017 for one year only.

Application closing date

The closing date for receipt of applications is 24 March 2017.


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Commission and the University to contribute to development needs of Commonwealth countries by providing training for skilled and qualified professionals who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom. The intended beneficiaries are high-quality postgraduate students who have not studied extensively overseas before and who have the potential to enhance the development of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire.

The University has received 6 awards under this scheme to support scholars commencing their studies in 2017/18. The awards are available to students taking the following courses:

Eligibility Criteria

To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, you must:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritius Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia, Zimbabwe*.

*awards are offered to build the capacity of civil society organisations.

How to apply

You should apply to study an eligible Master’s course (please see list of eligible courses above) and then apply for the scholarship.

To apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship please complete the Electronic Application Form here:

The deadline for receipt of applications is Friday, 24th March 2017.


Student Financial Support
Newcastle University
King's Gate
Newcastle upon Tyne
United Kingdom
Telephone: +44 191 208 5538/8107