School of Psychology

Athena SWAN

Athena SWAN

The Athena SWAN Charter recognises institutions committed to supporting the advancement of gender equality: representation, progression and success for all.

The Athena SWAN Charter was established in 2005 to encourage and recognise committment to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education and research.

In May 2015, the charter was expanded to recognise work undertaken in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL) and in professional and support roles and for trans staff and students.  The charter now recognises work undertaken to address gender equality more broadly, and not just barriers to progression that affect women.

Any university or research institution committed to principles of the charter can apply for membership of Athena SWAN.

The award has two deadlines each year, 30 November and 30 April.  The application process requires evidence gathering, self-assessment and the formulation of a three year action plan.  The application form is then assessed and the department is notified if they've been successful.  More information is available in the Athena SWAN charter document.

Newcastle University currently holds a Silver Athena SWAN Award at university-level and 18 departmental awards.  Details of these awards can be found on the main university website.

Our application to Athena SWAN

The School of Psychology is actively pursuing an improved gender balance and work life balance for all staff.  We have submitted an application for an Athena SWAN Bronze Award and have a self-assessment team composed of the following members, who meet regularly and who have really interesting and fruitful discussions:-

Ann Armstrong

Beverley Brennan

Professor Dame Vicki Bruce

Tascha Clapperton

Professor Gwyneth Doherty-Sneddon

Dr Amy Fielden

Professor Mark Freeston

Dr Claire Lomax

Dr Patrick Rosenkranz

Dr Helen St. Clair-Thompson

Dr Sue Thorpe

Judy Watson

Karen Wilson

The Head of School and members of the SAT. Photo credit: