Faculty of Science, Agriculture & Engineering

Centres for Doctoral Training

New Centres for Doctoral Training

18 million pounds of PhD study opportunities available.

Newcastle University has been awarded three new Centres for Doctoral Training (CDTs) from the Engineering & Physical Science Council (EPSRC). These three CDTs will develop the researchers and leaders of the future and drive innovation and investment across the UK.

The aim will be to attract some of the best minds from across the UK, and internationally, with the first cohorts starting in September 2019.

These centres will provide cohort based PhD research opportunities, with 180 fully funded four-year PhD studentships available over a five-year recruitment period, starting September 2019.

Designing our future cities, enabling the transition from fossil fuels to electric vehicles and designing new drugs to fight disease are some of the key challenges facing society.

We are also a key collaborator in three additional CDTs. These centres will also offer fully funded four-year PhD studentship opportunities.