Institute for Social Renewal



Management Board Members

Theme Champions

Our Theme Champions perform important roles in the Newcastle Institute for Social Renewal:

  • Animate and draw people together around their theme, promoting innovation and synergy
  • Plan and deliver specific projects which will have demonstrable impacts
  • Represent the theme of social renewal within and beyond the University
  • Support routes for knowledge exchange to ensure NISR is able to make a difference to society
  • Participate in the NISR Management Board

Professor Helen Berry - Theme Champion (The Past in the Present)

Emeritus Professor John Goddard - Ambassador, Newcastle Institute for Social Renewal

Professor Matthew Grenby - ex officio Newcastle Institute for Social Renewal Management Board Member

Jenny Hasenfuss - Institute Administrator, Newcastle Institute for Social Renewal

Professor Kathryn Hollingsworth - Theme Champion (Children and Young People)

Dr Simon McKerrell - Theme Champion (Arts and Culture in Social Renewal)

Dr Suzanne Moffatt - Theme Champion (Health, Wellbeing and Inequality)

Professor Sally Shortall - Theme Champion (Knowledge, Evidence and Policy)

Professor Mark Shucksmith - Director, Newcastle Institute for Social Renewal

Professor Mark Tewdwr-Jones - Theme Champion (People, Place and Community)

Professor Liz Todd - Theme Champion (Learning for Change) & Deputy Director NISR

Dr Fiona Whitehurst - Theme Champion (Enterprise in Society)

Professor Peter Wright - Theme Champion (Digital Innovation)