chaplaincy

Newcastle University Chaplaincy

The Newcastle University Chaplaincy offers:

  • mindfulness sessions
  • confidential listening and support
  • faith exploration
  • signposting to appropriate local faith communities
  • opportunities for prayer and worship
  • spiritual accompaniment

... and of course socials, fun and friendship!

The University Chaplaincy Team are a team of chaplains working together who are appointed by their faith communities, recognised by the University and are affiliated to the Student Health and Wellbeing Service.

They are committed to working with students and staff of different faiths and none and to making the University a place of religious tolerance and respect. They are joined in their work by a further team of honorary chaplains who are all members of staff within the University.

The Chaplaincy Team are committed to religious tolerance, diversity and respect.

For more information telephone 0191 208 6341 or email chaplaincy@ncl.ac.uk

Core Chaplains

The Core Chaplaincy team is made up of representatives from major world faiths and different Christian denominations. Some are full-time and some are part-time. They are all very willing to be contacted, to try to help out in any way they can.

Bill Clegg (Baptist Chaplain)
Telephone: 0191 2086649
Mobile: 07528 948776
Email: bill.clegg@ncl.ac.uk

Mia Fox (Catholic Chaplain)
Telephone: 07713 259173
Email: mia.fox@ncl.ac.uk

Hugh Gould (Buddhist Chaplain)
Telephone: 01434 345204
Email: hugh.gould@ncl.ac.uk

Tracey Hopwood (Methodist Chaplain)
Telephone: 07958 914169
Email: tracey.hopwood@ncl.ac.uk

Aaron Lipsey (Jewish Chaplain)
Telephone: 07793 746454
Email: aaron.lipsey@ncl.ac.uk

Stephen Richardson (Assistant Methodist Chaplain)
Telephone: 07808 205525
Email: stephen.richardson@ncl.ac.uk

Honorary Chaplains

These are current members of University staff who are committed members of local faith communities and wish to support the work of the Chaplaincy.

Christian

• Mr Rob Davidson
Telephone: 0191 208 6203
E-mail: r.i.davidson@newcastle.ac.uk

• Dr David Golding
Telephone: 0191 208 5282
E-mail: d.w.golding@ncl.ac.uk

• Dr Nick Megoran
Telephone: 0191 208 6450
E-mail: Nick.Megoran@ncl.ac.uk

• Revd Bryan Vernon
Telephone: 0191 208 8945
E-mail: b.g.vernon@ncl.ac.uk

• Dr Sue Vernon
Telephone: 0191 214 3064
E-mail: s.j.vernon@ncl.ac.uk

Buddhist

• Mrs Chris Earle-Storey
Telephone: 0191 208 6164
E-mail: chris.earle-storey@ncl.ac.uk

Faith Contact

We are in the process of appointing Faith contacts, representing some of the faith communities not represented on our chaplaincy team.

Pagan Federation
Lily Oak, Northumberland Coordinator, The Pagan Federation

Martin Luther Kirche (German Speaking Church)
Verena & Thomas Jantzen
Website: www.germanchurch.org.uk
Email: pastor@germanchurch.org.uk

Society of Friends (Quaker)
Dr David Manning
Email : david.manning@ncl.ac.uk

Greek Orthodox Church
Mr Vasileios Floros
Email: info@st-anthony-the-great.org.uk
Website: st-anthony-the-great.org.uk

Faith support

There is a vibrant and varied faith community in and round Newcastle and there are many locations for expressions of worship in the city. Click on this link for a guide to local places of worship, including churches, temples, synagogues and mosques. There is also a thriving Council of Faiths, and chaplains are happy to put you in touch with people of any faith.