Endowed Prizes for Academic Excellence


All University Endowed Prizes for Academic Excellence (formerly Exhibition awards) are awarded annually to first year undergraduates: the prizes carry considerable prestige and are merit based awards.  

The pooled awards, which are funded by various bequests, replace the former Exhibition awards and apply across varying groupings of academic disciplines to reflect the previous spread of individual awards.


These awards are competitive across the whole University and can be held by any year 1 student. Only exceptionally high achieving students should be nominated for these prizes.


Endowed Prizes are awarded on the basis of end of stage examination results, reflecting the student’s performance throughout the academic year.

Nominations are put forward by the Schools: prizes are then awarded by the University Endowed Prizes Committee.

2016/2017 Endowed Prizes Winners

  • Orestis Katsoulis, BSc (Hons) Biomedical Sciences
  • Ma Premarion, MSci Biomedical Sciences
  • Wei Quang Poh, BSc (Hons) Biomedical Sciences
  • Migle Mazurkeviciute, Batchelor of Dental Surgery
  • Omar Mahmoud El-Sayed Ali, MBBS
  • Nicholas Dik Hang Chung, MBBS
  • Lucy Carter, MBBS
  • Thomas DeVile, BSc  (Hons) Psychology
  • Lucy Charles, Batchelor of Dental Surgery
  • Matthew Warrenberg, BA (Hons) Architecture
  • Imogen Rice-Birchall, BA Combined Honours
  • Hannes Torbohm, BA Philosophy
  • Megan Croker, BSc (Hons) Speech & Language Sciences
  • Katharine Miles, BA (Hons) Linguistics
  • Maria Notidou, BA (Hons) Linguistics
  • Elizabeth Hendry, BA (Hons) Physical Geography
  • Alice Barrett, BA (Hons) History
  • Matthew Slater, LLB
  • Louise Abbott, BA (Hons) Modern Languages
  • Heidi Bates, BA (Hons) Modern Languages
  • Rebecca Garrity, BSc Marketing & Management
  • Sani Roka Magar, BSc (Hons) Accounting & Finance
  • Laura Oldfield, BA Combined Honours
  • Laura Taylor, BA Media, Communic'n & Cultural Studies
  • Joanna Thirkettle, BSc (Hons) Countryside  Management
  • Caitlin Gadsby, BSc (Hons) Biology
  • Kallie Friston, BSc (Hons) Chemistry
  • Xiu Kooi, BSc Computer Science
  • Rachel  Lim Min Hui, BSc Computer Science
  • Jonathan Spruce, BSc Computer Science
  • Joseph Dessi, BSc Hons Mathematics
  • Andrew Scholl, BSc Hons Mathematics

The Stanley Raymond Dennison Scholarships

The Stanley Raymond Dennison Scholarships were established from legacy funds donated from the estate of Professor Stanley Dennison C.B.E. a notable and eminent economist, former chief economic assistant in the war cabinet, holder of the David Dale chair of economics and Pro-Vice-Chancellor at Newcastle University and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Hull. Professor Dennison also served on the review body for doctors’ and dentists’ remuneration, on the University Grants Committee and as Vice-Chairman of the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals.

The Scholarships are devoted to assisting the further studies of the highest achieving first year undergraduates at Newcastle University.

2016/2017 Stanley Raymond Dennison Scholarship Winners

  • Thomas Hoather, MBBS
  • Roma Patel, BSc (Hons) Biomedical Sciences
  • Isabel Valori, BA Combined Honours
  • Sophie Thomas, BSc (Hons) Economics
  • Jacques Hall, BSc (Hons) Accounting & Finance
  • Hope Coke, BA (Hons) English Literature
  • Vladislav Iliev, BSc Computer Science with Industry
  • Lewis Reed, MMath Hons Mathematics

For more information contact us.