Burnett (Mark) Collection

Subject strengths: Literature, Children's Literature

The Burnett Collection of children's literature was presented by Professor Mark Burnett (Queen's University Belfast) and contains books and annuals which were mostly published in the early to mid-Twentieth Century.

It includes such titles as: Timothy's quest (1900), The boy's adventure book (1935), The Flying Five and other stories of adventure and school life (1936), and Girl's fun annual (1952).

Collection Name and Collection Reference Code:

Collection Name: Burnett (Mark) Collection

Library Search Collection Ref Code: Burnette

Date Range of Material

1847 - 1992

Type of Material

A collection of published material, including children’s books and annuals.

Size of Collection

9 Linear Metres of shelving 

How To Order Items From This Collection

The books within this collection are described within the Newcastle University Library Search and can be ordered directly from the catalogue.

This link to the Library Search will show a list of all the items within the collection. Please note this link is available to members of the public as well as University staff and students.

Unable to visit our Reading Room?

If you are unable to visit our reading room, we also have a virtual reading room service and a digitisation service. 

Other Resources

Material from this collection was used in our Treasures of the Month feature for June 2012 and December 2012.

See more digitised content from this collection at CollectionsCaptured.