University Regulations

Term & Semester Dates

Term and Semester Dates

Current and Future Years

Find terms and semester dates for the current and upcoming academic years.

Term dates 2017/18

TermStart dateEnd date
Autumn Monday 25 September 2017 Friday 15 December 2017
Spring Monday 8 January 2018 Friday 16 March 2018
Summer Monday 16 April 2018 Friday 15 June 2018

Semester dates 2017/18

SemesterStart dateEnd date
One Monday 25 September 2017 Friday 26 January 2018
Two Monday 29 January 2018 Friday 15 June 2018
Three Monday 18 June 2018 Friday 21 September 2018

Students must be in attendance at the University from the first day of each term. The dates exclude travelling time. When applying to the University check the specific arrangements for your programme, which can be found in the information you should receive from your school. Teaching requirements for all students may fall outside of term time.

Postgraduate students

The end of the academic year for postgraduate taught students is the penultimate Friday in September. All other term and semester dates are as indicated above.

We expect that full-time postgraduate research students will study throughout the whole academic year, working for at least 40 hours per week (pro rata for part-time students). Holiday can be taken as agreed with your supervisor, in line with the postgraduate research student holiday policy.

There is only one term for postgraduate research students, the start date of which coincides with the start of the academic year. However, there are multiple start dates throughout the academic year for new postgraduate research students and these are agreed on a Faculty basis.

Non-standard study periods

Some programmes offered at our branch campuses, as well as some programmes that are delivered at Newcastle, have term dates that differ from those given above. In these cases, students will be notified of term dates separately.

Exam dates

Further information on examination and resit periods is available on the Student Progress website. You are required to make yourself available for exams at all times during all three of the exam periods. You should, therefore bear the dates of these periods in mind, especially when making arrangements for vacation employment and any overseas travel. We can't accept individual requests regarding the timing of exams.

Future term and semester dates

Closure Dates

The University will be closed on the following days in the current academic year.

2017

  • Monday 25 December (Christmas Day)
  • Tuesday 26 December (boxing Day)
  • Wednesday 27 December
  • Thursday 28 December
  • Friday 29 December

2018

  • Monday 1 January (New Year's Day)
  • Tuesday 2 January
  • Friday 30 March (Good Friday)
  • Monday 2 April (Easter Monday)
  • Monday 7 May (May Day Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 28 May (Spring Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 27 August (Late Summer Bank Holiday)