University Regulations

Term & Semester Dates

Term and Semester Dates

Current and Future Years

Find terms and semester dates for the current and upcoming academic years.

Term dates 2018/19

TermStart dateEnd date
Autumn Monday 24 September 2018 Friday 14 December 2018
Spring Monday 7 January 2019 Friday 29 March 2019
Summer Monday 29 April 2019 Friday 14 June 2019

Semester dates 2018/19

SemesterStart dateEnd date
One Monday 24 September 2018 Friday 25 January 2019
Two Monday 28 January 2019 Friday 14 June 2019
Three Monday 17 June 2019 Friday 20 September 2019

Students must be in attendance at the University from the first day of each term. The dates exclude travelling time. When applying to the University check the specific arrangements for your programme, which can be found in the information you should receive from your school. Teaching requirements for all students may fall outside of term time.

Postgraduate students

The end of the academic year for postgraduate taught students is the penultimate Friday in September. All other term and semester dates are as indicated above.

We expect that full-time postgraduate research students will study throughout the whole academic year, working for at least 40 hours per week (pro rata for part-time students). Holiday can be taken as agreed with your supervisor, in line with the postgraduate research student holiday policy.

There is only one term for postgraduate research students, the start date of which coincides with the start of the academic year. However, there are multiple start dates throughout the academic year for new postgraduate research students and these are agreed on a Faculty basis.

Non-standard study periods

Some programmes offered at our branch campuses, as well as some programmes that are delivered at Newcastle, have term dates that differ from those given above. In these cases, students will be notified of term dates separately.

Exam dates

Further information on examination and resit periods is available on the Student Progress website. You are required to make yourself available for exams at all times during all three of the exam periods. You should, therefore bear the dates of these periods in mind, especially when making arrangements for vacation employment and any overseas travel. We can't accept individual requests regarding the timing of exams.

Future term and semester dates

Closure Dates

The University will be closed on the following days in the current academic year.

2018

  • Monday 1 January (New Year's Day)
  • Tuesday 2 January
  • Friday 30 March (Good Friday)
  • Monday 2 April (Easter Monday)
  • Monday 7 May (May Day Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 28 May (Spring Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 27 August (Late Summer Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 24 December 
  • Tuesday 25 December (Christmas Day)
  • Wednesday 26 December (Boxing Day)
  • Thursday 27 December
  • Friday 28 December
  • Monday 31 December

 2019

  • Tuesday 1 January (New Year's Day)
  • Friday 19 April (Good Friday)
  • Monday 22 April (Easter Monday)
  • Monday 6 May (May Day Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 27 May (Spring Bank Holiday)
  • Monday 26 August (Late Summer Bank Holiday)