Acting Head Of School

Dr James Annesley
Senior Lecturer in American Literature

School Manager

Lesley Lant
School Manager


Dr Brian Alderson
Guest Member of Staff

Professor Linda Anderson
Professor of Modern English and American Literature

Dr James Annesley
Senior Lecturer in American Literature

Dr Harriet Archer
Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

Dr Melanie Bell-Williams
Senior Lecturer in Film

Sue Bradley
Research Associate in Oral History

Professor Kate Chedgzoy
Professor of Renaissance Literature

Dr Ruth Connolly
Senior Lecturer

Dr Martin Dubois
Lecturer in Victorian Literature

Dr Ella Dzelzainis
Lecturer in Ninteenth-Century Literature

Dr Helen Freshwater
Reader in Theatre & Performance

Dr Abbie Garrington
Lecturer in 19th and 20th Century Literature

Dr Stacy Gillis
Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature

Professor Matthew Grenby
Professor of 18th-Century Studies

Dr Rosalind Haslett
Lecturer in Dramatic Literature

Professor Peter Hunt
Visiting Professor

Dr Lise Jaillant
Guest Member of Staff

Dr Laura Kirkley
Lecturer in Eighteenth Century Literature

Dr Kirsten MacLeod
Lecturer in Eng Lit, Victorian/Modern

Dr Shehzana Mamujee
Lecturer in Renaissance Literature

Dr Robbie McLaughlan
Teaching Fellow

Dr Aditi Nafde
Lecturer in Medieval Literature

Dr Meiko O'Halloran
Lecturer in Romantic Literature

Dr Jennifer Orr
Lecturer in Eighteenth Century Literature

Dr Lucy Pearson
Lecturer in Children's Literature

Professor Michael Pincombe
Professor of Tudor & Elizabethan Literature

Dr James Procter
Reader in Modern Eng & Postcolonial Lit

Professor Kim Reynolds
Professor of Children's Literature

Professor Peter Reynolds
Professor of Theatre Studies

Professor Jennifer Richards
Professor of Early Modern Literature & Culture

Professor Michael Rossington
Professor of Romantic Literature

Dr Andrew Shail
Senior Lecturer

Dr Neelam Srivastava
Senior Lecturer in Postcolonial Literature

Dr Fionnghuala Sweeney
Senior Lecturer in American Literature

Professor Robert Thornton
Strategic Research Advisor

Dr Anne Whitehead
Senior Lecturer in Modern and Contemporary Literature

Language & Linguistics

Professor Karen Corrigan
Prof of Linguistics & English Language

Dr Cristina Dye
Lecturer (Assistant Professor) of Language Development

Dr SJ Hannahs
Reader in Linguistics

Professor Anders Holmberg
Professor in Theoretical Linguistics

Dr Adam Mearns
Lecturer in the History of the English Language

Dr Hermann Moisl
Reader in Computational Linguistics

Dr Heike Pichler
Lecturer in Sociolinguistics

Dr Geoffrey Poole
Senior Lecturer in Linguistics

Professor Maggie Tallerman
Professor of Linguistics

Dr Jennifer Thorburn
Lecturer in Sociolinguistics

Dr Danielle Turton
Lecturer in Phonology

Dr William van der Wurff
Senior Lecturer in Linguistics

Dr Joel Wallenberg
Lecturer in the History of Eng Lang

Professor Diana Whaley
Professor of Early Medieval Studies

Professor Martha Young-Scholten
Professor of Second Language Acquisition

Creative Writing

Professor David Almond
Distinguished Writing Fellow

Colette Bryce
Research Associate

William Fiennes
Lecturer in Creative Writing

Tina Gharavi
Senior Lecturer

Professor Bill Herbert
Professor of Poetry & Creative Writing

Professor Jackie Kay MBE
Professor of Creative Writing

Professor Sean O'Brien
Professor of Creative Writing

Dr Ahren Warner
Research Associate

Margaret Wilkinson
Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing

Royal Literary Fund Fellows

Tom Bryan
Guest Member of Staff

Ann Coburn
Royal Literary Fund Fellow

Emeritus Professors

Emeritus Professor Bruce Babington
Emeritus Professor

Emeritus Professor John Batchelor
Emeritus Professor

Emeritus Professor Noel Burton-Roberts
Emeritus Professor of English Language and Linguistics

Emeritus Professor Tom Cain
Emeritus Professor

Emeritus Professor Terry Wright
Emeritus Professor


Melanie Birch

Rowena Bryson
Teaching & Resources Officer; Examinations Officer; PA to Head of School

Sherelle Coulson
Postgraduate/Marketing Clerical Officer

Dr Adam Stock
Research Associate

Julie Wilson
Clerical Assistant

Technical Staff

Jeff Wilson
Computing, Technical and Safety Officer