Research Centre for Learning and Teaching

Associate Members

Associate Members

Colleagues identifying as associate CfLaT members would be typically recognised as:

  • Having research and / or scholarship interests which substantially overlap with one of more of the themes listed above;
  • Supporting and participating in CfLaT events, such as the showcase and research teas. 

The following are Associate Members:

Emeritus Professor Ann Briggs
Professor of Educational Leadership

Telephone: +64 (0)27 550 3748

Dr Bryan Burford
Senior Lecturer


Dr Müge Satar
Reader in Applied Linguistics

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5070

Dr Gail Edwards
Lecturer in Education

Dr Eric Fletcher
Visiting Fellow


Emeritus Professor Simon Gibbs
Professor of Inclusive Educational Psychology and Philosophy


Jon Haines
Lecturer, Secondary PGCE Science

Telephone: + 44 (191) 208 6597

Dr Hanneke Jones
Senior Lecturer in Education

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5460

Dr Amina Razak
Research Associate

Dr Alina Schartner
Senior Lecturer

Telephone: +44 (0)191 208 6593

Professor Heather Smith
Prof Race & Language Equality in Ed

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6820