Research Centre for Learning and Teaching



Colleagues identifying as CfLaT members would be typically recognised as:

  • Having research and / or scholarship interests which substantially overlap with our research themes;
  • Engaging in the strategic decision making and action of the centre, for example attending CfLaT away days and guidance groups whenever possible;
  • Contributing to CfLaT events, such as the showcase, research conferences and symposiums;
  • Working collaboratively with CfLaT colleagues on joint research, publications or engagement where appropriate;
  • Representing CfLaT when attending regional, national and international conferences and events. 

The following are CfLaT members:

Dr Wilma Barrow
Senior Lecturer Educational Psychology Joint Director DAppEdPsy Programme

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8717

Professor Jill Clark
Professor of Participatory Research Methods

Dr Anja Giudici
Lecturer in Education

Professor Rene Koglbauer
Dean of Lifelong Learning and Professional Practice | Director of Educational Leadership Centre

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8453

Karen Laing
Senior Research Associate

Professor Stephen McHanwell
Professor of Anatomical Sciences and Director of Unit for Educational Research Development and Practice

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 4561 (School of Medical Education) 0191 208 665

Dr Maria Mroz

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6585

Dr Deborah Ralls
Lecturer in Education


Dr Samantha Shields
Senior Lecturer in Education

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6565

Ulrike Thomas
CfLaT Research Associate

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5654

Lucy Tiplady
Senior Research Associate

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7449

Professor Liz Todd
Director of the Institute for Social Science

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6572

Dr Alison Whelan
Research Associate

Telephone: 0191 208 5284

Dr Pamela Woolner
Reader in Use and Design of Educational Space

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 5470

Lydia Wysocki
Research Associate