Executive and Governance Office

Principal Officers

The principal officers assist with the governance or management of the University.

The Visitor to the University is the Sovereign. The remaining principal officers, listed below, comprise both members of the University staff and non-University officers appointed by the University's statutory bodies.


Chancellor - Imtiaz Dharker

Chair of Council and Pro-Chancellor - Mr Paul Walker

Vice-Chancellor and President - Professor Chris Day

Deputy Vice-Chancellor - Professor Brian Walker

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Global and Sustainability - Professor Richard Davies

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Education - Professor Tom Ward

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation - Professor Matthew Grenby

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Engagement and Place - Professor Jane Robinson

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Humanities and Social Sciences - Professor Nigel Harkness

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Medical Sciences - Professor David Burn

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Science, Agriculture and Engineering - Professor Stephanie Glendinning

Registrar - Dr Colin Campbell

Honorary Treasurer - Mrs Angela Russell

Executive Director of Finance - Mr Nick Collins

Executive Director of External Relations - Mr Justin Cole