Skip to main content

Our Postgraduate Research Students

Our Postgraduate Research Students

Read about the research interests of our current PGR students in the School

Harry Thompson The Withdrawn Design: Object-Oriented Ontology and Architectural Practice

h.thompson@newcastle.ac.uk   

Harith Farooq Omar Urban Greening and City Design: The case of Amman, Jordan

h.omar2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Iddrisu Yakubu The Proliferation of Shopping Malls and its Impact on Existing Retail Outlets in Accra, Ghana

I.Yakubu2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Abdulrahman Almajadiah Transforming the City towards Walkability: the Case Study of Central Makkah, Saudi Arabia

a.almajadiah2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Monika Brandic Lipinska Alien Technology for Alien Worlds: Design for Biological Construction of Living Habitation on Mars

M.H.Lipinska2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Rusudan Mirzikashvili Heritage and Landscape: Making trans-sectoral connections in governance and legislative frameworks

rusudan.mirzikashvili@newcastle.ac.uk 

Sadaf Tabatabaei 

s.tabatabaei@newcastle.ac.uk 

Ellis Douglas “Sustainability” and “Reversibility”: A Genealogical Investigation into the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UN SDG)

e.douglas2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Emmanuel Odugboye Environmental Impact of Non-Pharmacological Interventions on the care of Frailty and Dementia in the Tropics

odugboyeeo@yahoo.com 

Ray Verrall (Re)constructing the 1958 RIBA Oxford Conference on Architectural Education

raymond.verrall@newcastle.ac.uk 

Nagham El Elani Space, a Bridge Connecting Online and Offline Learning

n.el-elani2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Katy Smith Coast and Country: Understanding Social Inequalities in Rural Coastal Communities in Contemporary England

k.smith@ncl.ac.uk 

Bobbie Bailey Supporting community-led future visioning through the reimagination of underused public spaces

r.bailey@ncl.ac.uk 

Elena Balzarini - Ecologies of the housing threshold. Investigating the boundary between domestic and public in British housing through an ecological perspective.

e.balzarini2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Sarah Ackland - Transformative Spaces for Women: Running in the City

s.ackland2@ncl.ac.uk 

Sonali Dhanpal Contested Bangalore: Caste, Colonial and Princely Politics

s.dhanpal2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Lingfei Kong - War-related defensive constructions in Mainland China influenced by political factors during the early Cold War

L.Kong10@newcastle.ac.uk 

Pierangelo Marco Scravaglieri Liquid Architecture

P.M.Scravaglieri2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Tinatin Meparishvili The effects of mass tourism and heritage commodification on heritage communities and the urban environment in historic cities

t.meparishvili2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Ikbal Berk The Effects of Participatory Design Tools on Community Engagement in Developing Neighbourhoods

i.berk2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Laura Mark Experiencing architecture in the house-museum: An auto-ethnographical study of the phenomenology of the domestic realm in Walmer Yard

l.mark2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Wahbi Albasyouni - A Proposal for the Use of FMEA (Failure Mode and Effect Analysis) Based Risk Assessment Tool for Green Buildings in Egypt

w.i.m.albasyouni2@newcastle.ac.uk 

Oluwakemi Adeboje Exploring the design delivery process in Architectural firms in Nigeria

o.a.adeboje2@newcastle.ac.uk 

John Naylor A computational design approach to full-culm bamboo

j.naylor73@newcastle.ac.uk 

Jennie Day Are We There Yet? A Critical Analysis of Autonomous Vehicle Future Imaginaries 

j.day3@newcastle.ac.uk

Elantha Evans Architecture, education and the empathic imagination

e.evans4@ncl.ac.uk 

Wahbi Albasyouni Developing a Framework for Risk Assessment of Construction Projects in Egypt using Failure Mode and Effect Analysis (FMEA)

w.i.m.albasyouni2@newcastle.ac.uk

Lotte Dijkstra Intersectional Belonging: Exploring equitable access to urban forest qualities across communities

M.Dijkstra2@newcastle.ac.uk

Byung Choon Hwang Participation of community in heritage-led regeneration

B.C.Hwang2@newcastle.ac.uk