Newcastle University Business School

Innovation, Enterprise & Digital Business

Innovation, Enterprise and Digital Business


By working with: businesses; institutions; policymakers; and academics, within and beyond the fields of innovation, enterprise and digital business, our aim is to improve understanding and practice through research. 

We deliver seminars, workshops and events that inform, engage and positively affect others within the field.

We link with the University’s Centre for Knowledge, Innovation, Technology and Enterprise (KITE) and seek to foster the development of new and early career researchers.

Key themes

  • Entrepreneurship and international development
  • Entrepreneurial ecosystems
  • Critical entrepreneurship studies
  • Entrepreneurship and education, innovation policy and creative enterprise
  • Business model innovation
  • Social and public innovation
  • ICT-enabled innovation and project management
  • Digital business


Subject Group Head

Research and Impact Lead

Research and Impact Lead

Research and Impact Lead

Research Community Lead

Research Community Lead

Professor Matthew Gorton
Professor in Marketing

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 1576

Community Members

T&R Members

Dr Neil Alderman
Senior Lecturer

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 1678

Dr Hanna Bahemia
Lecturer in Technology and Innovation Management

Telephone: + 44(0)1912081588

Dr Rebecca Casey
Lecturer in Information Systems Mgmt

Telephone: +44 191 208 1679

Dr Karen Elliott
Senior Lecturer in Enterprise/Innovation (FinTech); DPD Dual Award Groningen Programmes

Telephone: 0191 2081719

Dr Andreas Giazitzoglu
Senior Lecturer. DPD MSc International Marketing.

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 1699

Dr Jonathan Kimmitt
Senior Lecturer in Entrepreneurship

Telephone: 0191 2081614

Eftychia Palamida
Lecturer in Creativity & Entrepreneurship

Telephone: +44 (0)191 208 2310

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 2081696

Professor Jonathan Sapsed
Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship


Dr Elaine Tan
Lecturer Marketing Degree Programme Director N500

Telephone: 0191 208 81690

Dr Arturo Vega
Lecturer in Innovation and Policy

Telephone: 01912081709/(0) 191 208 1500

Dr Fiona Whitehurst
Senior Lecturer in Management and Director of Impact

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 1603

R&I Members

Dr Lucille Valentine
Research Associate

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 1694

T&S Associate Members

Fiona Thompson
Lecturer in Marketing

PhD Students

  • Vajira Palitha Balasuriya
  • Olutayo Oludare Korede
  • Andrea Lane
  • Julian Rueb
  • Kasem Tantanasiriwong
  • Phuong Nguyen Thu Tran
  • Jirawat Worakantak
  • Rui Zhang
  • Jingyu Zhu
  • Ian Merrell
  • Katie Aitken-McDermott
  • Richard Freeman
  • Hao Du
  • Tima Rebai
  • Min Yan
  • Jingyu Zhu
  • Chris Storey
  • Mingxue Wei