Sustainable Campus

The Team

About the Team

Contact the Team

The Team

The Sustainability Team are a part of Estates and Facilities at Newcastle University. We are responsible for the environmental management and operational sustainability of the University.

Staff list

Denise Connor
Waste Manager

Matthew Dunlop
Head of Sustainability

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 3964

Annabel Kramrisch
Sustainability Communications Placement

Hannah Owens
Sustainability Manager

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7789

Katherine Smith
Sustainability Officer

Melissa Stephenson
Sustainability Officer

Luke Whittaker
Energy & Carbon Manager


Environment and Sustainability Committee

Environment and Sustainability Committee (ESC) is the governing body on environmental and sustainability performance at Newcastle University.

ESC is a sub-group of University Executive Board (UEB) and reports to UEB on a 6-monthly basis. ESC also acts as the Management Review for the University's:

  • Environmental Management System, certified to ISO 14001
  • Energy Management System, certified to ISO 50001

Chaired by Professor Richard Davies, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Global and Sustainability, ESC brings together a wide range of academics and professional services colleagues, including:

  • experts from Engineering, Life and Environmental Sciences, and Medical Sciences
  • heads of various services across the University, including Procurement
  • the democratically elected President of the Students' Union, and Ethics and Environment Rep, representing the views of students.

Take a closer look at the EMS and EnMS Management Structure (PDF: 74KB).

For more information on ESC and its responsibilities, you can view the ESC Terms of Reference 21_22.