Skip to main content

Become a Registered Architect

Become a Registered Architect

Three stages are required to qualify as a Registered Architect in the UK and you can study them all at Newcastle University.

BA Architecture

Our accredited Architecture degree progresses you towards qualification as a professional architect with exemption from the RIBA Part I examination. You'll leave with your own design style and distinctive way of working.

Your studies will explore the cultural, historical and technological contexts of architectural design. You'll also learn to understand the implications of your design decisions. Our city will provide the ultimate case study for you, with an architectural legacy that few UK locations can rival.

Find out more about our BA Architecture programme

Master of Architecture March

You'll take a year out in practice. You'll then return to university to complete the two-year Master's in Architecture programme (MArch). 

Completion of this course leads to the degree of Master of Architecture and gives exemption from the RIBA Part II examination. It's based on project work that focuses on complex public buildings. You'll develop a design thesis, often building on your practice experiences.

Professional practice and management are integrated into the programme. This will prepare you for the final phase of your professional training.

There are also study abroad opportunities with: 

  • the University of Sydney in Australia
  • the National University of Singapore
  • European universities

Find out more about our Master of Architecture (MArch) programme

Diploma in Architectural Practice and Management

This is the final RIBA Part III qualification for entry into the profession as an ARB-Registered Architect and for membership of the RIBA. 

It covers professional and business aspects of work, and is taken part-time while you work as an architectural assistant.

Find out more about our Diploma in Architectural Practice and Management