School of Engineering

Staff Profile

Professor Jon Mills

Professor of Geomatic Engineering



Jon Mills is Professor of Geomatic Engineering in the School of Engineering where he leads the Newcastle Earth Observation laboratory (NEOlab) within the Geospatial Engineering Group. Jon is currently Chair of Commission 1 on data acquisition for EuroSDR (European Spatial Data Research). He has previously served as an elected Member of Council for the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS, 2012-16), as President of ISPRS Technical Commission V on close range image measurement techniques (2008-12), and as Chair of ISPRS Working Group I/4 on airborne digital sensor systems (2004-08). Jon's research develops optimised image and range-based modelling solutions for measurement, mapping, monitoring and parameterisation of engineering models and has been disseminated through the publication of over 200 papers in refereed journals, conference proceedings and professional periodicals. His work has also been highlighted in the national and international media.


Copies of Jon's papers are available via the Newcastle University ePrints service. Also see:

Roles and Responsibilities

Head, School of Civil Engineering and Geosciences; February 2011 - July 2016.
Deputy Head, School of Civil Engineering and Geosciences; April 2009 - January 2011.


Certificate in Learning and Teaching in Higher Education; 2000.
PhD in Digital Photogrammetry; 1996.
First Class BSc (Hons) in Surveying Science; 1993.


Fellow, Higher Education Academy (FHEA)
Fellow, Institution of Civil Engineers (FICE)
Fellow, Chartered Institution of Civil Engineering Surveyors (FCInstCES)
Member, Remote Sensing and Photogrammetry Society (RSPSoc)

Industrial Experience

Experience in the provision of individually tailored CPD courses and specialist consultancy projects in geospatial engineering, e.g. specifications, professional guidance and short courses.


Research Interests

Optimised photogrammetric and laser scanning solutions for measurement, mapping, modelling, monitoring and parameterisation of engineering models, comprising:

  • Cal/val of data from new/integrated earth observation sensor systems and platforms;
  • Novel methods and models for fusing multi-modal earth observation data;
  • Automated methods of information extraction from imagery.

Postgraduate Supervision

Currently supervisor / co-supervisor to six full-time PhD students:

  • Lesley Davidson (UK)
  • Ahmed Elsherif (Egypt)
  • Lyndsey Graham (UK)
  • Nicko Kassotakis (UK)
  • Johannes Senn (Germany)
  • Jiaxing Zhang (China)

Previous PhD primary supervisions (17):

  • Zheng Wang (China): 2019
  • Polpreecha Chidburee (Thailand): 2019
  • Maria Peppa (Greece): 2018
  • Andrew McClune (UK): 2017
  • Abdulhamed Gneeniss (Libya): 2014
  • Matthias Kunz (Germany): 2013
  • Chih-Heng Wang (Taiwan): 2013
  • Fanar Abed (Iraq): 2012
  • Andy Hardy (UK): 2011
  • Yu-Ching Lin (Taiwan): 2009
  • Kwasi Appeaning Addo (Ghana): 2008
  • Shih-Yuan Lin (Taiwan): 2007
  • Pauline Miller (UK): 2007
  • Richard Eyers (UK): 2006
  • Saad Al-Hamlan (Saudi Arabia): 2005
  • Simon Buckley (UK): 2003
  • David Barber (UK): 2003 

Esteem Indicators

Member of XPrize Moonshot Award winning Team Tao; 2019.
Chair of EuroSDR Commission 1; 2017-present.
Chair of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) Financial Commission; 2016-present.
Chair of Grants Evaluation Committee, The ISPRS Foundation; 2012-17.
Elected Member of ISPRS Council; 2012-16.
Trustee of The ISPRS Foundation; 2012-16.
Editorial Board member, Geo-spatial Information Science; 2011-present.
International Editorial Advisory Committee member, The West Indian Journal of Engineering; 2011-14.
Convenor: ISPRS Commission V Symposium; Newcastle upon Tyne, UK; 21-24 June 2010.
President of ISPRS Technical Commission V; 2008-12.
RICS Mapping and Positioning Practice Panel member; 2008-present.
Convenor: RSPSoc Annual Conference 2007; Newcastle upon Tyne, UK; 11-14 September 2007.
Chair of ISPRS Working Group I/4: Airborne digital photogrammetric sensor systems; 2004-08.
Peer Review College member, Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC); 2003-05.
Editorial Board member, Geomatics World; 2003-present.
International Editorial Board member, Photogrammetric Record; 2002-present.
RSPSoc ISPRS Committee member; 2001-present.
Harper Somers Visiting Fellow, University of Newcastle, Australia; 2001.
ICES Photogrammetry & Remote Sensing Expert Panel member; 2000-08.
Council member of the RSPSoc (formerly the Photogrammetric Society); 1998-2002.
Journal Guest Editor:
  • Photogrammetric Record; Special Issue, "ISPRS Commission V Symposium"; Dec 2011;
  • Photogrammetric Record; Special Issues, "ISPRS Hannover Workshop"; Sept and Dec 2008;
  • ISPRS Journal; Theme Issue "Digital Aerial Cameras"; Sept 2006.

Research Funding 

Ongoing externally funded projects include:

  • UKRI: EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Geospatial Systems (£6,718,389; 04/19 - 09/27); 
  • UKRI: GCRF Water Security and Sustainability Hub (£17,762,850; 02/19 - 05/24);
  • NERC: SHEAR - Web-based natural dam-burst flood hazard assessment and forecasting system (£252,891; 11/18 - 10/20);
  • Innovate UK: TeamTao XPrize (£305,737; 06/18 - 03/19);
  • EPSRC: UK Collaboratorium for Research in Infrastructure and Cities: Newcastle Laboratories (£9,671,332; 04/16 - 03/21).


Undergraduate Teaching

I currently contribute to degree programmes in Geomatics (BSc), Civil Engineering (BEng and MEng), Earth Sciences (BSc and MEarthSci), Geography (BSc) and Town Planning (MPlan and MSc). I am involved in the delivery of the following modules in AY 2019-20:

CEG1701: Fieldcourse (20 credits);

CEG1703: Surveying (20 credits);

CEG1709: Engineering Surveying I (10 credits);

CEG1711: Tutorial Study Skills (10 credits);

CEG1712: Fundamentals of Surveying (10 credits);

CEG2708: Photogrammetry and Laser Scanning I (10 credits);

CEG2720: Geomatics Practice and Research (10 credits);

CEG3706: Photogrammetry and Laser Scanning II (10 credits);

CEG3799: Research Project (30 credits);

CEG8709: Introduction to Surveying for Town Planning (10 credits).