Centre for Rural Economy

Our Staff

Our Staff


Find out more about our staff, their research and how to contact them.

Sue Bradley
Research Associate in Oral History

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 3267

Dr Paul Cowie
Faculty Research Fellow

Telephone: 0191 2083593

Professor Lynn Frewer
Professor of Food & Society

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8272

Guy Garrod
Reader in Environmental Economics/Director Centre for Rural Economy

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 7552

Dr Menelaos Gkartzios
Senior Lecturer in Rural Studies

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6615

Dr Matthew Grainger
Research Associate


Dr Regina Hansda
Research Fellow

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 2088518

Dr Carmen Hubbard
Senior Lecturer

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8854

Dr Helen Kendall
Viscount Runciman Research Fellow

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6930

Dr Sharron Kuznesof
Senior Lecturer

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8889

Anne Liddon
Science Communications Manager

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6880

Dr Mercy Ojo
Research Associate

Telephone: +44(0)191 208 6930

Dr Diogo Monjardino De Souza Monteiro
Senior Lecturer in Agribusiness

Telephone: +44 (0)191 208 6886

Dr Elizabeth Oughton
Principal Research Associate

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8608

Dr Luca Panzone
Lecturer in Consumer Behaviour

Telephone: +44 (0) 1912083594

Nikki Parker
School Operations Administrator Frnt Off

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6573

Professor Jeremy Phillipson
Prof of Rural Development

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8940

Dr Amy Proctor
Research Associate

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 8506

Marian Raley
Research Associate

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6460

Professor Mark Reed
Prof of Socio-Technical Innovation

Telephone: 07538082343

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6909

Frances Rowe
Research Assistant

Telephone: +44 (0) 7981 276585

Dr Niki Rust
Research Associate


Professor Sally Shortall
Duke of Northumberland Professor of Rural Economy

Telephone: +44 (0) 191 208 6882

Dr Gavin Stewart
Lecturer in Evidence Synthesis


Dr Pattanapong Tiwasing
Research Associate

Telephone: +44(0)1912086930


Find out more about our associates.

Dr Jane Atterton
SRUC, Scotland’s Rural College

Dr Richard Austin
Chichester Harbour Conservancy

Dr Mary Brennan
University of Edinburgh

Gary Bosworth
University of Lincoln

Dr Kirsten Brandt, Senior Lecturer, AFRD

Terry Carroll

Karl Christensen
Industry Development Manager

Dr Phil Dawson
Retired Reader in Agricultural Economics, AFRD

Dr Andrew Donaldson
Lecturer, School of Architecture Planning and Landscape and Global Urban Research Unit

Dr Jeremy Franks
Senior Lecturer, AFRD

Rose Gilroy
Professor of Ageing, Policy & Planning and Director of Engagement, Architecture, Planning and Landscape

Dr Matthew Gorton
Reader in Marketing, Newcastle University Business School

Dr Lionel Hubbard
Retired Senior Lecturer, AFRD

Dr Alan Hunt Consultant
Local Food Strategies LLC, New Jersey, USA

Dr Elizabeth Jackson
Royal Veterinary College

Dr Gulbanu Kaptan
Leeds University Business School

Dr John Lingard
Retired Senior Lecturer, AFRD

Dr Mitchell Ness
Retired Lecturer, Newcastle University Business School

Dr Robert Newbery
Senior Lecturer, Newcastle University Business School

Professor Walid Oueslati
Agrocampus - Ouest, France

Dr Michael Wallace
Senior Lecturer in Farm Business, AFRD

Rhona Pringle

Dr Neil Powe
Senior Lecturer, Architecture, Planning and Landscape

Professor Christopher Rodgers
Newcastle Law School

Dr Eric Ruto
University of Lincoln

Dr Karen E Scott
Politics Department/Environment and Sustainability Insitute, University of Exeter

Professor Mark Shucksmith, OBE
Director, Newcastle Institute for Social Renewal

Dr Elizabeth Stockdale
Senior Lecturer, AFRD

Dr Hilary Talbot
Research Associate

Dr Nicola Thompson

Barbara Tocco
Research Associate, Newcastle University Business School

Roger Turner
Rural Economies Consultant

Professor Neil Ward
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Academic), University of East Anglia

Professor Jane Wheelock
Emiritus Professor of Socio Economics, Geography, Politics and Sociology

Dr Rachel Woodward
Professor of Human Geography, Geography, Politics and Sociology

Honorary Fellows

Dr Abigail Woods
King's College London

Richard Baker
Age Concern England

Professor Mike Bell
Department of Sociology, University of Wisconson-Madison

Professor David Brown
Department of Development Sociology, Cornell University, USA

Margaret Clark
Commission for Rural Communities

Dr Nina Glasgow
Department of Development Sociology, Cornell University, USA

Kayo Murakami 

Geoff Tansey
JRCT Visionary Fellow

Roger Turner